There’s a reason why you should never take candy from a stranger…..

Because if you do, you might end up being the butt of a joke on Jimmy Kimmel.  He has parents film their kids while telling them they ate all of their Halloween candy and putting it on YouTube.  Some of the reactions are funny.  Most of them appall me.  If my kid screamed and cried and threw a huge tantrum and threw things at me and said he hated me, that would be the last piece of candy they would have for a while!  And what a way to humiliate/damage your child.  Take him out trick or treating, and then take it away.  What kind of lesson is that for a child?

trickortreat

So both parties are acting badly.  The parent for starting it, and the child for reacting poorly.  It’s all about me me me for the kid, who doesn’t understand how to act when he doesn’t get his way.  The way they talk to their parents disgusts me.  They show no respect.  Granted, the parent is doing a mean thing.  But sometimes parents have to do “mean things” for the welfare of the child.  Should the child react with a temper tantrum and hatred?  Is that what you have taught him?  Then you need to go back to school.

And is it really “mean”?  What about funny?  Is it funny to tease your child?  I think it could be, if your child knows you would really never do him any real harm.  I mean, it IS candy, which most parents don’t like their child to have anyway.  So if a parent took away the candy, should the child understand?  Should they throw a tantrum?

I think maybe a little tantrum would be in order, depending upon the age of the child.  After all, as one kid pointed out, he worked HARD for that candy.  It is HIS.  And on that point, I agree!

What I don’t agree with is a kid telling his parents he HATES them and having a total hissy fit.  That is NOT ok with me.  It’s not ok to do that.  But if kids do it all the time, and the parents don’t correct the behavior, it will continue.

Parents are responsible for molding their children into good people.  People who can take the good AND the bad, and act appropriately.  Children that don’t know how to act will not be successful in controlling their emotions throughout their lives.

I used to think my mom and dad were mean.  My mom used to say all time that “children should be seen and not heard”.  Boy, she should see what today’s children are like!  They run the family.  The parents are at their beck and call.  There are so many times that I am in a situation that I feel should be only adults, but the children are there, hanging on their parents, interrupting all the time, and hearing things and language that aren’t meant for them.  Now that I am an adult, I am glad my mom and dad were mean.  They were actually raising me to know my place, and give respect to my elders, not sass them and run the show.

So, when I see the YouTube videos of children behaving badly, I really do blame the parents.  And I am SO grateful that I am not a school teacher, as I had originally planned!  Imagine having to deal with that all day long, and not be able to do a damn thing about it!

 

 

3 thoughts on “There’s a reason why you should never take candy from a stranger…..

  1. Pingback: Five Thoughts For You : Parenting | PROPEL STEPS

Leave a Reply

