Have you updated your Bucket List?

Nowadays everybody has a bucket list.  People ask all the time, “oh, is that on your bucket list?”  Nobody knew what a bucket list was until Jack Nickolsen and Morgan Freeman told us.  I’m glad they did though, because otherwise I might not think about things I really need to do before my number is up.  Maybe a little push in the right direction.  Something will pop up on my radar and I’ll think, hmmmm, maybe I should put that on my bucket list!

The problem with a bucket list is that sometimes it can get to overflowing with items that will never be done, no way, no how, not in this lifetime.  So the hard thing to do is winnow it down to the things that REALLY MATTER, like meeting Craig Ferguson, or swimming with dolphins, both of which I can cross off my list.  What I really would like to do, though, is to go back in time and erase all the mistakes I have made in my lifetime.  Unfortunately they haven’t perfected the time machine yet, so that’s not gonna happen.

I wish I was adventurous, like Eat, Pray, Love.  I know I would be good at the Eat part.  The Pray part would be good for my soul.  But I know I would fail, once again, at the Love part.  I wonder if two out of three would count.

My bucket list now has turned very simple.  Live for today.  Take time to smell the roses.  Play with your dog.  Be nicer to everyone.  Appreciate your friends and family.  Love fully and completely.  Anything above and beyond that, like a fully paid trip Australia and New Zealand for a month, is gravy.

3 thoughts on “Have you updated your Bucket List?

Leave a Reply

