I am a GLEEful Gleek!

I took a friend’s young daughter today to see GLEE 3D.  She is an up-and-coming young actress/singer/dancer who just recently starred as Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz at summer theatre camp.  We both love Glee and it was a perfect rainy day to go to the movies and see our favorite Glee stars on the big screen.  We sat in our seats eating our popcorn and candy and singing along with all our favorite songs.  The 3D was awesome, the actors just popped out at you on the screen, it was probably better than being there in person!  These actors are very talented, and I will be sorry to see some of the best ones graduate as “seniors” after this season.  However, I am looking forward to an influx of new talent.

The movie interviewed a variety of real people who are fans, and showed us their stories.  People of all shapes and sizes and colors and sexual orientations.  There is a favorite Glee character for everyone!  My personal favorite, Jesse St. James, was not, alas, featured in the movie.

He is the best male singer by far in the show.  His rendition of Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody was off the hook.  He even learned to play the piano part because he wanted it to be totally believable, and realistic.  In his last appearance on Glee, when he and Rachel sang Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep”, I actually cried, it was so beautiful.

The only criticism I could possibly have for Glee is that even tho they have characters that are straight, gay, handicapped, etc., they don’t always cast that character with real people of that role.  There are gay guys playing straight guys, and vice versa.  I know, I know, actors can play ANYTHING, but I would think it would be great PR for the show to have actually matched up the fictional characters with their real persona.  I love Kevin Hale as Artie, but I’m sure there are real handicapped kids out there in wheelchairs that can sing just as well.

So all in all I give GLEE 3D an A!  Please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

