Top Ten Books

I am a voracious reader, along with my sister.  We love all manner of books, and share them back and forth.  As young kids we would read in bed with a flashlight.  Summer reading lists from school were done in the first week.  We couldn’t get enough. 

I’ve read some great books in my day.  In compiling this top ten list, I’m sure I’ve forgotten some of the best, but my brain just can’t remember them all!  So my current top ten is sitting on my bookshelf or in my Nook/Kindle.  Here it is:

1.  Jean Auel’s Earth Children series (Clan of the Cave Bear et.al.) 

2.  Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series

3.  P.C. Cast House of Night series

4.  Clive Cussler’s Dirk Pitt series

5.  Nora Roberts as J.D. Robb Death series

6. John Grogan’s Marley and Me

7.  Garth Stein’s Racing in the Rain

8.  Bruce Cameron’s A Dog’s Purpose

9.  Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games series

10. Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants

And so many, many more!  In different phases of my life, I had different favorites.  These are a list of my current favorites.  I would love to hear about YOUR favorites!  I’m always looking for a good book!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books

  1. I just finished reading the first book in the Hunger Games series last night – can’t wait to read the second book!!!! I read a Dog’s Purpose last week – I thought the book was just OK. Never finished reading Marley and Me because I couldn’t stop crying near the end of the book. The Twilight series is definitely on my top 10 list!! I have Racing In The Rain sitting on my nightstand right now and I have Water for Elephants on reserve waiting for me at the library. I’ll be sure to check out some of the other books you’ve listed on your top 10! Thanks for the reading suggestions 🙂

    • Carrie, I read the whole Hunger Games series in like 3 days, it totally captivated me! I understand about Marley and Me, I was sobbing so hard at the end it took me multiple tries to try and read a page! Racing in the Rain is about par with A Dog’s Purpose in terms of crying. Love to read!

  2. It took me a little longer to fall in love with reading. I think I got through HS with Cliff Notes, but now feel totally decadent when I take an afternoon off to read. Love sharing what others are reading, but guess I’m going to have to break down and get some kind of smart phone so I can keep a list of must reads at ready hand, seems whenever I’m in my favorite bookstore, library, etc., my mind goes blank. Here’s some of my top fav’s:
    Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
    Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
    The Human Stain by Philip Roth
    Room by Emma Donoghue
    The Help by Kathryn Stockett
    To Kill a Monckingbird by Harper Lee
    Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
    The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffennegger
    Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow
    Little Bee by Chris Cleave

    On my list to read are:
    The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman
    Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

    • I did just read Room, and it is definitely in my Top Twenty! I read some of the other ones too, and want to read The Help too! The movie is doing very well, might have to go see it!

Leave a Reply

