Dancing with the Enemy?

Dancing with the Stars premiered last night amongst great controversy.  Certain groups of people are upset that a transgender person is dancing.  They say it will give the wrong message to children.

Oh, you mean the message that you can wear almost nothing on prime time TV is ok though, as long as you are dancing?  As long as you aren’t “different”?  Trust me, children would not even KNOW that Chaz is transgender unless YOU tell them, and even then they probably won’t care.  And ABC doesn’t mind stirring the pot as long as it translates into ratings.  DWTS has had gays, old ladies with overflowing bosoms and truck driver language, controversial athletes, and many D lister stars who wear the skimpiest of costumes, let alone the professional dancers.  Throw in an Osmond or a Kardasian and you have a great season! 

Children are exposed to all kinds of things from an early age on.  Do you remember how horrified everyone was about Jon Bennet Ramsey in her little pagent costumes?  Nowadays, Toddlers and Tiaras are stuffing fake boobs and butts into their little stars who are barely out of diapers!   All in the name of fame…..

Reality TV is everywhere, and most of it ain’t pretty.  Housewives cussing and swearing and bitch slapping each other, Bachelors and Bachelorettes back stabbing and hooking up right and left, partners abusing each other as they race around the world (and they win awards for this!)…..the list goes on and on.  Even the commercials ain’t your father’s Buick!

I myself am of the age where Happy Days couldn’t play in Peoria, where I grew up.  Boy, things have certainly changed!  Do you think it is for the better?  I am curious to know.

3 thoughts on “Dancing with the Enemy?

  1. Being female to male trans myself, I’m obviously a little bit biased :-). Speaking from experience, I can attest to the fact that I’m still a human being with real thoughts and feelings, am not out to “convert” the children, etc. However, all jest aside, I think you make a GREAT point when you mention that kids would have NO idea that Chaz is trans unless somebody specifically tells them. In fact, I also feel confident in saying that all of the people out there who are so anti-trans/transphobic have quite possibly come into contact with somebody who is trans but passes well so nobody knows. Great point about the Toddlers & Tiaras too–while I don’t personally agree with such young children partaking in beauty pageants (I think it reinforces the wrong thing to them), that show and its ideals are definitely in much contrast to years ago. I’m sure in the (hopefully near) future, we’ll look back at this whole Chaz situation and just shake our heads for being so close-minded.

      • The journey has been interesting, exciting, petrifying, exhilarating, and everything in between :-). It’s one of those things that’s hard to sum up in a few words, but I can say that I’ve never been happier or felt more at peace with myself. So that has to be a good sign, right? I’d love for you to check the blog out!

Leave a Reply

