To puppy, or not to puppy….that is the question

If you follow me at all you know that last week I lost my beloved lab Mollie to kidney disease at age 12, and just five months my beloved golden Maddie also at just age 8.  Broke my dang heart, twice in a short span.

I have always said these two would be my last dogs.  It is too painful to lose them.  Plus when I’m working it is a long 12 hour day for a dog to be home alone.  A dog door with a fenced yard does help, but dogs get lonely.  That’s why I’ve always had two for the past 12 years.  I had another golden angel, Maggie, who also died at just age 8, before I got Maddie.

My vet suggested fostering, or perhaps rescuing an adult retriever.  You don’t get the cutesy puppy years, but at least they are somewhat trained and not so needy when they are older.  And hopeful don’t still chew.  Retrievers are BAD CHEWERS.  Just ask my woodwork and carpet.  And shoes.  And clothes.  I remember when Maddie was a puppy and the neighbors would think I had a wild hot tub party the night before, because my unmentionables would be strewn across the back yard!  This puppy in the picture though……I’ve always had a hankering for the English White Golden Retriever.  Their fur is so light, and their eyes are extra dark brown, which makes for a stunning combination.  In my mind, there is nothing more beautiful than a Golden Retriever.  Their fur is so soft and flowing, their eyes will melt your heart, and they are so gorgeous running across the lawn, with their ears flopping and tongues lolling.  They truly do smile all the time!

I suppose I really need to think this over.  It is a HUGE committment to mother a dog, especially a puppy.  You needs lots of time, money and patience.  It is well worth it for all the unconditional love you receive back, especially the sloppy kisses.  And there is nothing better than puppy breath!  But.  In this economy and with all the other issues I have at hand, perhaps not the best idea right now.  I have a middle-aged cat, Simon the Siamese Scaredy Cat, from my sister.  At 21 pounds I think he qualifies as a medium-sized dog.   He will do just fine for now.

4 thoughts on “To puppy, or not to puppy….that is the question

  1. So sad for your loss- there are so many things entwined in this process- our acknowledging the rapid coursing of time, our history tied into the fur….

    You are being really conscientious. Take your time, but there is not too much like a dog to make every day rich. My golden, Chamois- NEVER chewed one thing. She had every to I ever bought her when she died at 13. She DID shed, and her size made me sure that I will never have a dog so big I cannot carry them. During her later years, it was hard for me to help her up and down stairs as she convalesced….

    SO, my uninvited advice is to let life guide you. If you visit a shelter, or their website, there may be a pup that speaks to you.

    • Janet, thanks for the realistic advice. It was indeed difficult for me to deal with my lab’s size up and down the stairs, as I live in a raised ranch. I did try to volunteer at a shelter once, but only lasted a day because I cried too hard when I left all those dogs for the night in their cages. I’m a sucker for big brown sad eyes and wanted to bring them ALL home! So, I guess I will let things perculate for awhile.

  2. I think the remedy is to get your employer to reform company policy to allow dogs at work, and your puppy can be with you all day. A puppy at the job would improve relations with fellow workers, customers, etc, etc, etc. There’s just nothing a cute as a puppy, they melt the heart of the meanest scrooge. However, you do have to detach from all possessions, and loosen up on housekeeping, but then if you paid more attention to the “Higher” intelligence of dogs, we’d learn that these things don’t really matter all that much in the long run. I say go for Puppy Love!

Leave a Reply

