Pick me….choose me….love me

Sounds pretty desperate, huh?  Some years back after my divorce I joined Match.com, thinking I might find my perfect mate there, as my hometown didn’t have much to offer.  The men were either married and unhappy and looking for a little something on the side, or single for a good reason.

At first I was really having some good luck.  There were actual men out there that were handsome and fun and I had a good time.  I met an army pilot who lived in Tennessee and had a long distance relationship with him for about a year.  But alas, he chose to go back to Iraq rather than retire and be with me.  After that, I mostly gave up on dating at all, and let my subscription lapse.

Then I decided to give it another go.  I wrote this long story about my perfect man for my profile.  It went something like this:

“A stranger walks into the room.  I feel his gaze upon me as the hairs on the back of my neck begin to tingle.  I turn around and there he is, tall, dark, handsome, with piercing blue eyes and dark wavy hair.  We are magnetically attracted to each other, and seem to glide across the room to each other.  He touches my hand, and I am fascinated by the crisp black hairs standing out from his white cuffs.  When I finally raise my eyes to his, I am mesmerized.  His crisp, clean cologne and pheromones make my nostrils inhale the scent of him. Without a word he pulls me closer, and the rest of the world melts away, as I sway in his arms.  I am his, and he is mine.”

I didn’t have much luck with that on my profile.  Maybe too much to live up to?  Not sure, so I took it off and replaced it with the usual mundane likes and dislikes.  However, I am too picky, too choosy.  I would rather be alone than settle for something less.  I feel I have a lot to offer, if someone chose to get to know me.  However, every man’s fantasy is NOT me, I am not a tall skinny blonde.  Men in their fifties are looking for someone in their 30’s.  And I refuse to date someone in their 60’s or 70’s.  Men die sooner than women, and I am NOT looking to be left behind again.  And what is it with all the men out their who are in their fifties and never been married???  That is an immediate red flag to me.  Everyone has their fatal flaw, but obvious lack of committment just won’t do for me.

I’m not really looking to get married again (unless they have a great retirement plan and health insurance!  Just kidding…..or am I?).  I am perfectly happy living the single life.  But I do miss having a best friend to do things with, and snuggle with at night.  Now that both my dogs are gone, I do have Simon the Siamese Scaredy Cat, but he is a nocturnal roamer and doesn’t stay put in the bed too long.

I guess I’ll just stay status quo for now.  If my Prince Charming or Knight in Shining Armor shows up, I hope I’ll recognize him!

Leave a Reply

