Another one bites the dust

 

 

 

So.  Another evil dictator has been hunted down in his lair and disposed of.  Muammar Gaddafi  joins an ever-growing list of country leaders who will disperse their version of government no more.

I remember when we despaired of ever catching some of these guys, especially when we were hunting for Saddam Hussein.  My army pilot boyfriend at the time, who had just come back from the initial invasion of Iraq, was quite nonchalant and confident when he said to give it time, we will get him.  He was right.  He was my hero, he’s been to Iraq more times than I’ve been out-of-state I think.  And Afghanistan, Korea…..you name it, if it’s a hot spot, he’s been there.  So many of our soldiers have been there.

When I heard Obama say this week that our soldiers will be home from Iraq in time for the holidays, I had mixed feelings.  Happy for us, no doubt about it.  But I hope that Iraq does not revert back to its old ways, and negate all the sacrifices made in life and limb.  Not to even mention all the billions spent there.  I think I heard the figure 4 billion a month tossed around, and I just wanted to puke.  All that money.  Hope it was worth it. 

So, does that mean that 4 billion a month will be pumped back in the good old U.S.of A?  I sure hope so.  I hope that money is not diverted to another military action in yet another country that we feel we have to police.  It seems to me that the good citizens of many countries are tired of being repressed, dictated to, and lied to.  Including us.  Occupy Wall Street has popped up in many places, including Chicago.  People are tired of not having a say in matters of importance.  In fact, I think millions and millions would join me in saying:

“I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore!”

Leave a Reply

