10,000 minutes

Countdown to Nov.18th:  7 days.  1 week.  10,000 minutes.  Now, I am NOT a Twilight fanatic, but Breaking Dawn WAS the best book of the series, and I am indeed anxious to see the movie.  I am indeed also disappointed that it will be in two installments.  Another long wait. (Hopefully the Hunger Games will fill that gap!)

I don’t know what it is about vampires that suck me in.  Modern day vamps.  Not olden day vamps.  Modern day ones that sparkle instead of burning up in the daylight, don’t sleep in coffins, and are beautiful beyond compare.

Maybe it’s because they don’t have to care about the usual mundane things in life anymore.  Everything is exciting. They have few physical limitations.   They have all the time in the world.  But think about that for a second…..all the time in the world.  What in the world is exciting after 100 years?  300 years?  Doesn’t it get…..repetitive?

So it makes me wonder about forever.  Eternity.  I cannot fathom it.  As a Catholic, I hope when I die I go to Heaven for eternity.  But I cannot look in the future that far.  As humans we measure our time here.  We know that eventually it runs out.  We are not sure when, so maybe it adds an edge to our every day living.  When we have eternity, time will have no meaning.  We just are happy and joyful all the time.  We have nothing to look forward to.  No sense of anticipation.  In our human life, anticipation is half the fun.  When the event is over, we feel a letdown.  So no peaks and valleys I guess.  Just happy all the time.

I don’t think I REALLY want to be a vampire.  After all, look how many times the Cullens had to go to high school.  It must get boring at some point.  Especially if they never sleep.  Naps are my most favorite thing in the world.  I don’t think I would want to live in a world without naps.  Unless I had a Cullen of my own.

Leave a Reply

