The reason for the season

Christmas is almost upon us, and personally I can’t wait. I decided this year to make it happy and full of love instead of sad and lonely.  I’ve had a rough year, but the love and kindness of friends and family truly amazed me this year.  And even though I don’t have tons of money to spend on presents, I’ve had a reaffirmation of faith in God and Jesus, and really, isn’t it about them and not us?

People are appreciative of just the gesture of thinking of them, not how much money you spent.  I have the most wonderful friends in the world, and it was so gratifying to me to make up little gifts bags of chocolates for them.  I also made up gift bags of treats for all the animals in my life in my neighborhood that I love so much….Ozzy my new baby kitty, Roxie the rottweiler next door, Neku the kitty next door, Abby the border collie of my brother’s two doors down, Diesel and Casey the golden retrievers across the street, Amber the sheltie of my sister’s around the corner and her two kitties Spencer and Zoe.

Doing something as simple as all that put a smile on my face, and reminded me of the true meaning of Christmas.  Christ mass.  The day baby Jesus was born.  A day of celebration throughout the land.  I love going to mass at Christmas time, singing all the old familiar songs along with the choir.  Everything is so festive and everyone is so happy and families spend time together giving thanks and praise to our Lord Jesus Christ.  I think I will go to midnight mass this year.  I like it the best.

Of course we will do presents.  The family will gather at my brother’s house and the wrapping paper will fly off the gifts to the children.  We will go out for our annual Christmas cocktail (or two) and then back for a nice dinner and gifts.  Then all the kids will go to bed to wait for Santa.  Christmas morning I will go to my sisters to see her little grandchild who is 2 open her gifts.  (Is there any cuter age????)  I have already received my gift from Santa this year, my new laptop, and I am so grateful to Santa!  I will be sure to say a prayer of thanks on Christmas for that.

So, I want to wish all my wonderful friends and family a Merry Christmas, and hope they find joy and love and the true meaning of Christmas in their stockings!  I thank God for all the great friends and family I have.  You truly do reap what you sow!

P.S.  Sorry for all the platitudes in this post, but it seemed so apropos!

Leave a Reply

