Happy New Year indeed!

Out with the old, in with the new.  Good riddance to 2011!  I hope to never experience another year like it.  Let’s review:

In January and again in April hurt my back at work.  Can’t really say anymore.  In April my sweet beautiful YOUNG golden retriever Maddie succumbed to her kidney disease.  In the middle of April I was fired from my job.  Can’t really say anymore.  In May started treatment for my back.  Can’t really say anymore.  In the summer my friends lost their 15 year old daughter in a tragic accident.  Affected all of us greatly.  In August my favorite cousin stopped speaking to me because I’m such a mean girl 😦  In October my beloved yellow lab Mollie also died due to a variety of issues.  In December my brother-in-law had a very scary heart attack.   In December my gorgeous YOUNG Simon the Siamese Scaredy Cat died suddenly of heart failure.   There is one more day left of this year.  I am closely guarding my new baby kitten Ozzy.

So overall not a stellar year.  But it wasn’t all bad.  I learned who my real friends are, and they helped me immensely getting through it all.  My family also stepped up to the plate and grieved with me over my losses.  I learned that life is short and not to take it for granted.  I learned that the love of family and friends is most important.  I learned to be humble and accept my new fate in life, which is so precarious right now.  I learned to keep my mind sharp and look at new avenues for my work.  I learned not to waste time on people, places or things that don’t give back.  I learned that God can indeed provide comfort and guidance if only you will listen.  I learned a lot.

I am approaching 2012 with optimism.  I just know that good things are in store for me.  I have friends and family who love and care about me.  I have a new furry boy.  I am looking forward, not backwards.  I welcome the challenges ahead.

Come on 2012.  I am ready for you.

 

Leave a Reply

