I don’t want to be Left Behind

I was born and raised Irish Catholic.  Catholic schools until junior year of high school.  Church on Sundays.  Singing in the choir.  Saying the rosary.  Gathering up those “saving graces”.

Somewhere along the way, it seemed like it was not cool to profess your faith in God and shout to the heavens that Jesus is our Lord and Savior.  People made fun of the “born agains”.  The general consensus was that if you were Christian and led a good life you had a free pass to heaven, but there was no need to shout it to the heavens.

Nope.  Not.  Don’t believe that anymore.  Even before I read this eye-opening book, I realized that I needed to REALLY let God into my life.  Why should it be embarrassing to say out loud that you believe that a higher power created life as you know it and that you want to be welcomed into the kingdom of Heaven?  When the alternative is nothingness or Hell?

I had a personal revelation this past summer when a tragedy happened to some friends of mine.  I realized that faith can pull you through the darkness and sadness and bring you back into the light.  I admired them and their church so much, it I attended services there for awhile.  It was a refreshing change from the same old service every Sunday at the Catholic church, with all the sit, stand, kneel etc.  At their church there was singing and bands and speakers and praising the Lord, and nobody was self-conscious to show their love for the Lord and each other.  Isn’t that what it should be all about????

Now don’t get me wrong, I still consider myself a Catholic and still go to my Catholic church too.  It is comforting to me because of its sameness.  I can let my mind wander and speak to God in my head and not miss a beat of the familiar ceremony.  The choir at my church is superb, especially at Christmas time, and I love to just sit and listen.  Music and singing move my soul.  My Catholic church was a place of refuge for me to go to after my divorce.  I would sit in the back row, with tears streaming down my face for the entire service.  Some of the regulars would pat my shoulder as I passed by, and gave me comfort.  I was too embarrassed to seek professional help or even go and talk to a priest, but felt I got it in the back pew of the church every Sunday.

So I will say this now.  I am a Christian, and I believe that Jesus is my Lord and Savior, and I want to go straight to heaven.  I want to see my dearly departed family members there.  I want all my puppies and kittys to meet me at the Rainbow Bridge.  I want to earn my wings.  If you are a Christian, I highly recommend that you read this book and the whole series.  It may give you a different perspective on how you look at your faith.  It is not good enough to just be a Christian by default.  You must make it so.  I don’t want YOU to be left behind either.

5 thoughts on “I don’t want to be Left Behind

  1. Good for you! I have to chuckle sometimes that it has become so cool to be “spiritual”, as long as that spirituality has nothing to do with conventional religion. You gotta chuckle instead of wailing and gnashing the teeth, right?

    • I do chuckle sometimes and I like nothing better than a good religion debate! Before read this book I was fairly confident that I would go to Heaven, with maybe a pit stop in Purgatory along the way. But now I am on the fourth book of the Left Behind series and I am so scared that so many of us won’t make it through the first time!

  2. Francis Chan; Crazy Love. That is all. 🙂

    PS-Isn’t Left Behind a fictional series? (yes, based on some of the Bible, but still fiction?)

    And, I’m pretty sure that if you are already a Christian, you’ll be taken during the Rapture anyhow- I’ve linked to a good site from my first Harold Camping post: http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/pages/rapture/the_rapture.htm that breaks down the four main schools of thought.

    I, personally, don’t believe in purgatory….. and interestingly, the Protestants and Jews have the same OT, whereas the Catholic Church has extra chapters, which is where the purgatory teachings are introduced.

    I’m not Catholic and I’m inclined to think that if Jesus wasn’t taught about purgatory as part of the standard Jewish education, then I’m happier with a non-Catholic Bible. 😉 Just my .02, of course; ymmv. (and this was one of the debates that resulted in the Reformation……….. :lol:)

Leave a Reply

