Is there only one true Jesus?

Last night I got into an very interesting conversation about my renewed interest in God, Jesus, and all things religion.  Lately I have been reading the Left Behind series of books, and what a revelation the Book of Revelations has become to me!

I went to Catholic school back in the days of real priests and nuns as teachers.  Since most of them were not necessarily educated to be teachers, they relied very heavily on teaching reading, writing and religion.  The whole school attended Mass every morning, and twice on holy days.  I think I can still recite the entire thing in Latin!  Which actually turned out very useful to me, as Latin is the root of all Romance languages, and my love of reading and writing is with me to this day.

I grew up receiving most of the sacraments and going to church and never questioning the teaching of the church.  That has changed since I began questioning evolutionism versus creationism.  I have my own theory on that which combined the two to my satisfaction.

Then along came Left Behind and a few other books I have read along that genre.  It really made sense to me.  I had never really thought much about the “rapture” and all that would happen afterwards.  I read the words years ago but never studied them or knew their true meaning.  Also, I have always been troubled about what would happen to all those good people on earth who believe in their own God, like Buddha and Allah etc.  And the Jewish faith, who is still waiting for their Messiah.  Is it really true that they cannot go to heaven because they don’t believe in Jesus?  Do they go to their own heaven?  Or are they “left behind”, and become true believers during the Tribulation?

Crikey, I remember back in grade school when I thought my non-Catholic (but still Christian) friends couldn’t go to heaven with me and I cried and cried.  That’s what the nuns taught us, and we all bought it hook, line and sinker.  I think that is why some people think the Catholic church is like a cult.  I am proud to be a Catholic, but don’t buy into 100% of their doctrine.  Which they change.  More than once.  Confusing.  Also they don’t aways practice what they preach.  What?!?! you may say.  Think about the cover up with priests/boys.  Enough said.  Moving on.

The idea of an Antichrist and Armagedon has always fascinated me.  But I never thought about the reality of that actual scenario.  The Left Behind books, even though classified as fiction, give me a believable picture of how it will happen and what life will really be like. And if so, I certainly don’t want to be left behind, as I have I stated in a previous blog!

Our conversation last night debated the question on why God would not let a good person into heaven, if they follow all the commandments and moral code, but don’t necessarily believe in Jesus like he wants.  Many people figure that if they are Christian and live a decent life that they get a free pass into heaven.  I’m afraid that isn’t true.  I’m afraid I may not make it there, even though I am a believer.  But I am going to try my hardest.

I am glad that I had good friends to have this interesting debate with (thanks Amy, Kathy and Lin!).  Everyone has their own beliefs and their slant on religion.  I learn so much from other people.  I hope to keep an open mind and become a better person.

6 thoughts on “Is there only one true Jesus?

  1. Hi Jan, I’m new too well to wordpress. Its fun and I love engagaing with folkS like you who are interested in Jesus. Hes my passion and like you I’m learning. I couldnt help but see your note and add a reply.

    You ask is there only one Jesus?, first I think thats a smart question to ask, especially as a blog heading. It should attract folks to respond.

    My thought is simply this. Jesus is “God” Emmanuel “God” with us and since Jesus is God then he is the only one and secondly because he’s the only God, what he says about salvation is true, simply because he cannot lie. Therefore if he says “If a man is born of water and spirit he cannot enter God’s kingdom” I guess that’s truth. Now if he was’nt God then, we have to wait for another god to die for us in order to be forgiven and we wouldnt have to believe what Jesus said, because he wasnt God anyway.

    Just a thought. What do you think?

    Thanks for allowing me to respond.
    (John 3:5 Isaiah 9:6)
    Paul

    • Hi Paul, appreciate your comment. I believe that Jesus is the Messiah and he has already been here and suffered and died for us so we can go to heaven. I think he will be back soon. Have you ever read The Late Great Planet Earth by Hal Lindsey? I read that in high school, a long time ago, and even back then I was thinking it would be soon!

  2. I think there is only one, true Jesus. But I don’t know if there is only one, true path to God. I struggle with the thought that those who don’t know Jesus can’t travel that path – it doesn’t seem right.

  3. You have to believe- period. This is where church theology is important, because Protestants, for example, don’t believe in Purgatory. We also don’t have the same books in the OT, either, fwiw. We believe that in order to be saved/go to Heaven, you have to believe in Christ. The Bible is actually pretty clear about believing in Christ being the way to Heaven, and it’s not dependant on things like works or going to confessional. 😉

    John 14:6– “Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

    John 11: 25-26– “25Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; 26and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

    John 3:16- “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

    Obviously, there is only a single real Jesus. I say this because Mormons, for example, say they worship Jesus, but he IS NOT the same Jesus from the NT. (They believe all kinds of things about their Jesus, like he and Lucifer were brothers and the council voted to send Jesus to earth instead of Lucifer. Let me know if you want links….. 🙂

    And, afaik, other religions believe other things about the Jesus of the OT.

    God has made it surprisingly “easy” for us to get to Heaven, yet belief in Christ seems almost “too simple” and yet too nebulous ………… 😀

      • Yes, of course- that’s the whole point! No one is excluded; everyone gets the chance to believe and be saved at that point, even those who have been falsely led- the veil will be lifted from their eyes, and they will have the same opportunity to believe. (And, when you think about it, this is how Christianity came to the Gentiles, because some of the Jews didn’t believe, so the Word spread and we {the Gentiles} were also given the chance to receive Christ.

        Isn’t God great?! 😀

Leave a Reply

