“Vague”booking Redux

I felt the need to revive this post I originally blogged back in February.  Also, I felt the need to add Twitter to the mix.  Twitter brings a whole new bag of tricks to social media.  Some which are awesomely funny, like parody accounts.  But some that are just plain cruel or stupid, like the fake twitter posts and pictures about Hurricane Sandy.  Don’t they realize that some people think that if it on the internet, it must be true?  *Shaking my head in disbelief and rolling my eyes*.  So, back to the post…..

Facebook.  A great place to keep in touch with family and friends, and share photos.

Lots of interesting status updates.   Some too revealing.  Some not revealing at all, that just yank your chain ….

I’m so sad.

Worst.day.ever.

Waiting at the ER.

😦

FML

I hate ____insert person, place or thing here_____.

Going to the doctor tomorrow.

Dear God:  Why me?????

These types of status updates are what I call “vague”booking.  Most chronic offenders are young drama queens.  Gives you just enough information to get you curious so that of course you will reply to their status.  “What’s wrong?  What’s up?  Can I help?”  Get everybody all riled up and not answer right away, letting people think the worst.  Then after the appropriate number of questions, they add just a bit more information to encourage MORE comments and invoke more sympathy etc.

Have I been guilty of this?  Sure, probably, hopefully not too often lately.  But once I recognized it in myself, I started recognizing it in others.  In the past I would be one of the first to inquire what was wrong.  Now, I just sigh and pass it on by.  I’m sure others will wrestle the info out sooner or later.  I know when my animals died last year that I took my anger and sorrow out publicly on Facebook, and that was wrong.  Nobody cares about your dog or cat dying.  (Well, some do, but they are special people like me).  And I really didn’t mean to make other people sad or try to make them feel MY pain.  Just wanted sympathy I guess.  (Now I just write blogs about it, lol).  And that’s ok.  I will give ANYBODY sympathy, but first they have to spit it out.  I am not going to play the guessing game anymore.  Please, just let me know what you want me to know.

Facebook can be a great way to let everybody know what is going on without having to run up cell phone minutes and get cauliflower ear.  It’s a great way to get the message out fast and widespread.  A perfect example of this was when my neighbor had a heart attack.  His wife calmly let everybody know what happened, and gave regular updates to keep us in the loop.  I appreciated her approach immensely, and hopefully she wasn’t inundated with tons of phone calls etc. to make/receive so she could concentrate on her hubby.  This was a perfect example of using Facebook as a social media at its best.

So to all you “vague”bookers out there, please, in the name of all that is holy, get it all out all at once, don’t make people beg you to find out what in the hell is wrong.  If people are your friends they want to know it all, right away, and you will get your sympathy, without pissing me and a lot of other people off in the meantime, lol.

Also, I hate what I call the “hit and runs”.  People who post a question, and then never return to respond to the tons of people who have taken the time to answer the question.  If you don’t have the time to check back, don’t ask the question in the first place.

And don’t even get me started on the underage drinking party pictures, naked pictures, sad sacks who only say negative things, happy people who are just a little toooooo happy all the time!!!!!!!!!!!! and other things.  Don’t people realize that prospective employers etc. check Facebook, besides your credit record, employment record, and driving record???  Do you really want your boss to see you drunk as shit on the weekends?  Do you really want them to see you swearing like a truck driver, or the fact that, shortcut language aside, you cannot spell?   Do you really want your parents to see naked pictures of you?  Or tonguing/kissing/mauling your girlfriend/boyfriend? Or a new picture of yourself, taken by yourself, every 5 minutes?   Things that you think are cool now, are not.

Facebook is NOT private, I don’t care how many privacy settings you have.  ANYTHING you put on the internet is fair game.  It is there FOREVER.  So even though the younger generation is more tech savvy than us old folks, they sure are naive about a lot of things.  Trust me, I know this firsthand.  And even if your Facebook IS set to private, one of your friends who you think is your friend is NOT your friend and will sell you out to the highest bidder.

Disclaimer:  None of my friends on Facebook are guilty of any of the above actions.  I have only heard and read about these kinds of things happening to other people.

4 thoughts on ““Vague”booking Redux

  1. OK….agree 100% . Esp the one or two word post. love your blogs…makes me smile…(or not) or think differently about something at times. Isn’t that the whole idea? XOXOX cousin!

  2. This is a great post, lots of honest truth here. I have a very conflicted relationship with fb for all the reasons you list, probably my pettest of peeves who just use fb to brag about their fabulous vacations. You are a talented writer!

Leave a Reply

