Riding the Wal-Mart express

I’m not ashamed to admit it.  I’m a Wal-Mart shopper.  Gone are the days of Marshall Fields/Macy’s.  Even Kohl’s.  In this economy, a single girl is lucky to have a roof over her head and food on the table and in the kitty bowl.  Especially a girl with a few serious health issues and no job.   A girl who spent thousands and thousands of dollars on her animals last year, only to have them die.  All of them.

But hey, life is hard all over, for everybody!  And I love Wal-Mart!  I do wish more things were made in the U.S.A. instead of overseas, but hey, that is partly the shopper’s fault.  Cause we are looking for cheap.  And cheap is what we get.  Not the best quality, but good for electronics, socks, underwear, and groceries (but not the meat!).

I think most everybody knows I’ve been dealing with some serious back issues.  The past few months I have been basically housebound and can hardly walk.  I really missed going anywhere, especially my weekly trip to Wal-Mart.  But lo and behold….Wal-Mart has scooters!  Motorized scooter with baskets!  Yes!  I am freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!  I can actually BROWSE without falling over or having to go sit down in the bathroom on a toliet just to rest my aching back/leg!  Before I started using the scooter, I’ve actually had cashiers there ask me if they should call an ambulance, lol, because I am in so much pain, and sweaty, and can barely check out in a rush to just get to my car and collapse.  How embarrassing.  I never thought I would end up like this.  Never in a million years.  I’ve seen those scooters there before, but never gave them a second glance.  I thought they were for old cripples.

Well guess what.  I am a cripple.  At least for now.  Hopefully I will be getting my back surgery soon and on the road to recovery, finally.  It’s been a long haul, and very difficult for me.  Lots of tears and worry and stress.  I may look fine on the outside, but I am crying on the inside.  Tears of a Clown.   And yes, I am embarrassed to ride the scooter, and pray to the dear Lord I don’t run into anybody I know.  I have run into a few people, but that was an accident due to driver error, lol.

I do understand now how hard it is to navigate in this world as a handicapped person.  I’ve always been one to help someone with a door or pushing a cart to the car.  Now I am so grateful when someone does the same for me.

So if you see me at the Wal-Mart, wave, and then run quickly into the next aisle before I run you over.  Don’t worry that I will follow you, I will be  happy that you just waved and moved on with the awkward questions/answers.

2 thoughts on “Riding the Wal-Mart express

Leave a Reply

