“Social” media?

Facebook can be a sad reflection on the state of society.  I initially joined Facebook with the intent of keeping my circle of friends intimate and primarily for picture updates of far away family members and networking.  But, like so many other things, all that went by the wayside in the interest of ever-growing information.

The friends list grew.  Friends of friends.  Relatives.  Co-workers. (Bad idea in general).  Anyway, the list grows on and on and takes on a life of its own.  Pretty soon you are drawn into the silly statuses of people who you could care less about in real life.  Joe Blow got drunk last night.  Susie Smith is bored.  Oh, and the pictures!  Pictures of Joe Blow and all his underage drinking buddies drunk and disorderly, holding up a variety of liquor cans and bottles with drunk ass smirks on their faces.  Pictures of Silly Susie Smith taking care of her boredom by posting 15 million pictures of her face at different angles.

That is all fine and dandy.  No big deal.  But what about when you DO see a big deal, written or graphically pictured on Facebook?  The above-mentioned underage drinkers.  The next day hangovers.  The fights.  The public break-ups.  The status changes, back and forth.   The snarky comments intentionally meant to hurt someone.  The BULLYING.  People have lost LIVES over this.

What if you see something that you don’t agree with?  Or that you think will hurt someone?  Should you stay quiet?  Should you tell?  If you tell, then you will no longer be “trusted”.  If you don’t tell, and something bad happens as a result, can you live with yourself?

Do you REALLY want to know all this shit???????  People (myself included) have a tendency to post TMI about their lives on Facebook.  Do you want your mother reading it?  How about your boss?  How about your spouse?  If the answer is no, then you probably shouldn’t post it.   Younger people don’t realize that what you post on the internet is FOREVER.  FOR F’ing EVER.  Once you hit Enter, or press Send, you can’t take it back.  You can delete it, sure.  But it will be flying around in cyberspace FOREVER.

Let’s say you apply for a job.  One of the first things a SMART company will do, in addition to background checks and references, is look for your Facebook page.  And unless you have it privatized pretty securely, they are going to see your drunk ass partying it up, all the F bombs you let fly, and all the lingo you use that pass as your language.  Some of which I just don’t get, but that’s another matter.  Anyway, some companies now are insisting on your Facebook password.  I think it’s in the courts right now.  Who knows what the result will be.  It may already be too late for you.  But if you are a teenager or young adult, you know everything, so who am I to tell you?

I think you can tell a lot about a person on how they use Social Media.  Facebook, Twitter, blogging etc.,…….it’s all there for you to see.  And read.  And make a conscious or sub-conscious decision about someone or something.  Does EVERYBODY really need to know EVERYTHING?  No.  They don’t.  And they shouldn’t.  Some things are better left unsaid.  And unseen.  Every now and then you need to take inventory and remove the bad thing(s).   (Trust me, I thank GOD that in my day we had nothing to document our drinking binges in colleges with, or I would be quite embarrassed!   But then again, maybe I would have seen how stupid I looked.  Nah, lol)   Drunk dialing was bad enough bad then.  Now we just drunk text.  Also.  So many ways to be a stalker nowadays!  lol

I write blog stories about my life and social commentary on things that catch my attention.  Sometimes people make fun of them.  Sometimes people like them.  Either way is fine with me, I try not to be too obnoxious.  At least with a blog, you have to make a conscious effort to subscribe, or click on a link, before it’s all up in your face, lol.

So next time you feel the need to “share”, think about who, what, where, when and why you are sharing the particular information.  There are many, many things I love about Social Media, and don’t know how I ever lived without Google, seeing all the cute pictures of kids and puppies and amazing videos, finding long-lost high school friends, sharing pictures of my Ozzy and Bri (my two fav camera uploads), and reconnecting with family I haven’t seen in years and years.  None of this would ever happen without all this high-tech stuff we now take for granted.  I am “online” in so many ways….desktop, laptop, Nook Color tablet, smartphone…..I am always available.  Even when I am not.

Leave a Reply

