Gavin DeGraw hangs up his dancing shoes….

Last night on Jimmy Kimmel, Gavin watched the traditional burning of his capezios.  A sad moment for us all.   He lasted five weeks, a lot longer than he probably thought initially.  I do think he accomplished his mission.  He learned a few dance steps, got to spend time with beautiful people, and put himself and his new album on people’s radar.  I myself never really was aware of WHO he was until DWTS.  Sure, I had heard his songs, but never associated a face to the music.  I think he will become more exposed to the public.  To me, going back in time and watching his early performances/videos, it is so endearing to see how Gavin has grown over the past 12 or 13 years or so since his videos first hit the net.

He was so soulful and vulnerable with his early songs, like Glass and Dancing Shoes.  His voice so pure, pouring his heart and soul into his songs over his piano.  He has said himself he really didn’t hit it big until he stopped caring about what other people thought of him and his music.  And truthfully, he LOOKED like he didn’t care.  In the beginning, he made the rounds of gigs and small towns, wearing a ball cap or beanie to tame his wavy locks and rumpled jeans and a t-shirt, not worry about his outward appearance.    Most of his early videos show him in rag-tag clothes.  I don’t think he ever really worried about dressing up.  Many videos show him on live TV show performances looking like he just rolled out of bed.  But the girls still screamed, lol,  Now he wears his self proclaimed “uniform” of tight black pants, vest and signature hat, sometimes a black leather jacket.

He has progressed into a man with charm and plenty of humor to abound, whether it’s showing off his hula hooping skills, or stories about his life.  He no longer just stays behind the piano or guitar, stepping up more into the spotlight as singer, altho he always returns to his piano at some point.  I think he is more playful now and banters with the crowd, more comfortable.  He knows his songs are good and he doesn’t have to worry about selling himself to the crowd anymore.  He just has to show up, and everybody’s happy.

Now he always wears a dress hat, and his hair is cut short.  No more wavy locks cascading down from his hat.  In fact, he looks like there would be no hair under his hat.  There is, but it HAS receded quite a bit since his younger days.  If he didn’t cut it so short, he would look like a regular guy.  I think the hat is his “stictk” now.  But I do wish he would let his hair grow a bit more, he looks funny to me with just a hat and no hair sticking out.

He’s from New York, but I think he has some country passion in his soul that gives him a bit of a twang in his voice.  His smile is very contagious, and he could charm the spots off a leopard.  He is very polite, always with the please and thank you.

I would imagine his tour bus has seen its share of groupies.  He does not appear to be a chaste type and am sure he enjoys his women.  Doesn’t seem to have had a lot of girlfriends, hard when you are touring all the time.   But I don’t think he ever lacks for female companionship.  However, I don’t think he likes a lot of PDA, and I rarely see him touch Karina in the way that most of the dancers do, always with their arms around each other, married or not, lol.  I think he likes his romance private.  Even tho he is a sexy man for sure!  I think not being so blatant about it adds to his allure.  His personality shines through first, and then his sultry sexiness.   I believe he would be a very passionate lover.  You can tell.  The hands.  The lips.  The moves.

His body is long and lean.  He is strong, but not muscle-bound.  He carried Melissa Gilbert down a flight of stairs like she was a feather.  I’ve seen his stomach and chest in a marine challenge video, he did pretty good!  Also, during his goodbye dance last night, he picked up Donald Driver and whirled him around several times WITH ONE ARM.  Impressed me, lol.

I don’t think he is romantically involved with Karina, although I am sure she is disappointed about that.  She was the one who recruited him, after all, after meeting him at an event.  However, there IS a romance going on at DWTS, and everybody thinks it is Katherine and Derek, but Katherine has tweeted that it is not them.  I have a sneaking suspicion that it is Gavin and Katherine.  I saw a pic of them taken together at #DWTS and they seemed very happily cozy together.  Hmmmm…..she’s a singer from Wales, he’s a singer from USA….not sure how often their paths would meet….so have fun for now.   That’s why I don’t think Gavin has a real girlfriend.  He tours constantly.  And after all this exposure on DWTS, I think he will be even more popular.

Sad to see him go, but glad he can concentrate more on his music and his tour now.  His performances will certainly be even more crowded now.  They’ve been adding dates to his tour almost weekly.  He certainly has renewed my interest in playing piano, and I am determined to practice more.  He has brought sexy back to piano!

So Gavin, I’m “Not Over You” yet, but sure enjoyed your mega-watt smile and humor and good grace every week.  I’m sure your tour will be even “Sweeter” now.  Good luck my friend, and hope to see you in concert some day.

2 thoughts on “Gavin DeGraw hangs up his dancing shoes….

Leave a Reply

