The most wonderful time of the year

It’s here again.  Christmas.  My favorite season.

This year I have so many things to be grateful for.  I have been through hell and back and now I can see the light, in so many ways.

It is so liberating to feel free and in charge of my own destiny now.  I have the time and finances now to fix myself, physically and mentally. The scars, both figuratively and literally, will always be there, and they were hard-won.  My emotions have finally settled, just in time for my fav season.

It’s the little things that make me happy now.  I don’t need big shiny expensive things.  I have lived frugally so well for the past few years, I find that SAVING money gives me more pleasure than spending money.  Money is the root of so many problems anyway.  I am more happy being frugal.  My biggest enjoyment in life is the afternoon matinée movie for six bucks.  I find joy in fixing up my house the most economical route, and feeling a sense of accomplishment.

Today I received notice today that I have been accepted in the Illinois Pre-existing Insurance Plan.  For that I thank President Obama.  All you haters out there, be grateful that you do not have a chronic, incurable disease like I do, because you too would be uninsurable.  Thanks to Obama, I now have affordable insurance coverage.  I haven’t been to my Crohn’s doctor is over 3 years now, and I REALLY NEED TO GO.  Now I can.  And I can get all my female tests I haven’t had in 3 years either.  When I went to the mailbox today, I ripped the envelope open, and started screaming in my street.  (Hope I didn’t scare the neighbors too much, but I think they are used to me, ha!).  This is HUGE for me.  Please Republicans, do not take away the health care I need.  It’s NOT free, far from it.  It is 125% more than a normal person’s premiums and I have a $5,000 deductible to pay before anything is covered.  But it is something, and I want it, and I need it.  So thank you to the powers that be, here on Earth and in Heaven.

More and more things are falling into place.  Every Sunday when I go to church, I like to sit back and thank God for all the blessings that have come my way, and pray for good things to come to other people.  I treasure my holy water I have received from dear friends who have traveled to Lourdes, and use it when I feel the need.  I used it when I went to court, and God stood up for me, and I will use it for my back surgery.  I used it on my BIL for his heart surgery, and he pulled through like a champ.  Miracles do indeed happen.

As Christmas approaches, I feel the spirit everywhere.  I love the cold, crisp air, and the beautiful twinkling lights everywhere.  I love all the parties and get togethers with family and friends.  I love seeing the delight on children’s faces when they open their gifts.  I love making my great niece’s FIRST hot chocolate.

Christmas gives me feelings of hope and peace deep within my soul.  I hope you all can feel it too, and have a very blessed holiday season.  Don’t forget to keep the “Christ” in Christmas!

Leave a Reply

