Michael Jackson – A Tragedy of Black of White – REDUX

Michael Jackson

I originally posted this a couple of years ago when I started blogging.  I have fallen off the pace as of late due to family crisis, but thought I would share some of my old musings for my newer followers.  I will get back on the horse in the new year.  Meanwhile, enjoy some of my previous posts!

I must preface this by stating that I am conflicted by the whole MJ thing.

On the one hand he was an amazing talent with huge entertainment value. I spent a whole weekend rewatching all his videos and listening to his songs. I had forgotten how revolutionary he was. His dance steps were a world into themselves. He moved with seemingly effortless grace, the result of perfecting his moves in front of mirrors. He had an instinctually knowledge of how to move his body to the best visual effect. There is no doubt in my mind that he was indeed the King of Pop. The Thriller video still excites me to this day. The Guinness World Records dubbed the video the “Most Successful Music Video” of all time. Also, it’s interesting that both of his ex-wives speak very fondly of him. Lisa Marie blogged that their marriage was not a sham, and that she failed him. He knew he would die a similar death to her father’s. Debbie Rowe has not said anything derogatory about him that I have seen so far (of course the money gag helps). They both said they were very happy being married to him.

On the other hand, however, I look at the metamorphasis that is MJ, especially physically. Pictures don’t lie, and scanning the photos of him from child to death is like looking at a tragic plastic surgery story gone wrong. I read where every time he looked in the mirror, he saw his father’s face, and so he kept trying to erase that face. MJ was very successful at eradicating every vestige of African American features he had. His skin was pure white. His nose was thin and small, too much so. His lips were thin and dainty. His children were of white biological parents. Yet ironically the black community still holds him up as an icon of their race.

Brooke Shields described him as being asexual, and I think that is the perfect description of him. Most of his dancing was very sexually explicit (I believe he started the crotch-grabbing phase), yet in real life he was child like in his behavior and demeanor. I think he genuinely loved children as he could relate to them the best. Was he a pediphile? Did he touch children inappropriately? A jury says no. Multi-million dollar “settlements” are suspect tho. Doesn’t prove he is guilty, doesn’t prove he is innocent. I don’t think we will ever know, as he only answers to God now.

He was very generous, and gave millions to charity. However, Bill O’Reilly criticized Jackson for “incredible selfishness — spending hundreds of million dollars on himself while singing ‘We Are the World,'” and said that it “should make any clear-thinking American nauseous.” I tend to agree with part of that statement. I remember watching a TV special on MJ some years back, and he would walk into stores and point at things and they would be bought and delivered to his house. Millions of dollars of things he probably never looked at again.

Finally, he wasn’t called Wacko Jacko for nothing. Think Neverland, Bubbles the chimp, surgical masks, baby over balcony, oxygen chambers, the Elephant Man. I could go on and on but you get my drift. One thing you can say about Michael was there was never a dull moment. I think he was a tortured soul. The drugs found in his house would attest to that. I think his upcoming tour would have put him back in the limelight in a GOOD way. I am sorry we won’t be able to share that moment with him.

He went from King of Pop to Wacko Jacko. A true tragedy of Black and White.

“I Am Tired Of This Devil I Am Tired Of This Stuff I Am Tired Of This Business

It Don’t Matter If You’re Black Or White”

2 thoughts on “Michael Jackson – A Tragedy of Black of White – REDUX

  1. Even though I always have been and always will be a huge MJ fan, sadly I would have to agree with much of what you wrote. Tragedy being the best way to sum up his life. He is the perfect example of fame and fortune NOT being able to buy happiness. I must say though that I have never believed the awful pediphile stories. Maybe I’m being too nieve, but I always truly believed that it came down to money and people taking advantage of him. Just a personal opinion that I know must do not agree with, and that’s okay. Most of the time I just felt so sad for him, as you could see that he was always searching for a peace and happiness that he could never find. As you pointed out, neither one of his wives ever had a bad word to say about him and neither did anyone that ever really knew him. All I have ever heard was how big his heart was and how wonderfully generous he was. Could he have done more, given away more? Sure, but so could Oprah and many, many more with the means to do so! I’m sure his over spending was just another way to try and cover up the hurt and make himself feel better….and haven’t we all done that!
    Well, didn’t mean to go on such a rant, but it did feel good to get some of that out, so thanks! And thanks for pointing out some of his good qualities and not just the bad….most people are not that generous when it comes to Michael, which makes me very sad.

Leave a Reply

