Another year falling off the calendar

2013Bye Bye 2012.  I won’t miss you toooooo much.  Some good things?  Yes.  Some bad things?  Yes.

It almost seems like a chore to write this blog, I kept putting it off.  I don’t know why, really.  I guess I hate all the New Year’s Resolutions that only last a few weeks, or looking back at a year that wasn’t so stellar after all.

I think what most people need, including myself, is a good kick in the ass.  Shake off the old dust, and add some new.  Winter time makes people feel like hibernating.  When it gets dark so early, people huddle indoors.  And without Christmas lights to brightening everything up, it is depressing.  All the hype and hoopla of the holidays are over.  The presents have been opened and broken.  The time-consuming wrappings all tossed in the trash.  The dinners and desserts all eaten.  The party hats and streamers stored away until next year.  Everything feels different now.  No sense of anticipating in the air.  Now we are left with counting down the days to summer.

My brother-in-law died right before Christmas.  Another relative to add to the December death list.  It seems to keep growing.  But I guess it is never a good time to die.  It has added an additional layer of gloom and sadness over my family that we must fight through.  My sister is so very sad, and it makes me even sadder.  She is my best friend.  I want to help her through the darkness to see the light.  It’s hard.  Death is always so hard.

The lakes are freezing up pretty good right now.  Hopefully some winter fun can be had soon, if only it would snow.  Our weather has been screwed up for a few years now so who knows wat will happen.  It would be nice to ride my quad on the lake for the first time in a few years!

Sigh.  So.  I’m not going make any predictions or resolutions for this year.  I am going to do my best to make it better than last year.  That’s really about all anybody can do.

Happier New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

