My legacy

legacy

This earthly life is not forever.  That is saved for our heavenly souls.  I truly believe this, because I have to think there is more to “life” than this.

But regardless of religious beliefs, I think about what impact MY life may have had on my family and friends.  When I am dead and gone, will my legacy live on?  What the heck IS my legacy?

I think my legacy is words. I have always been a lover of words.  The written word, the spoken word….it all matters to me.  I believe I am well-read and have a lot of life experience, and like to share it with people.  Nothing stimulates me more than a good rational discussion on taboo topics between friends!

My family thinks I’m a mean person.  I have the tendency to speak of things they don’t want to hear or think about.  I am also a little miss know-it-all, and that irritates people too. But I am the one in my family that gets things done.  The hard things that nobody else wants to deal with.  Give it to Janet.  She’ll get ‘r done.  I’m too smart for my own good sometimes.  My life would be a lot easier if I just played dumb.  I am my own worst enemy.

A lady friend of mine who I admire greatly is a writer and has read my blog.  She tells me I am irreverent.  I tell it like it is.  I wonder, is that a good thing or a bad thing?  I think it can be both.  My words have turned around to bite me in the ass more than once, but they also have given out a lot of good advice over the years.

I hope that when I no longer travel this world, that the words I have left behind will mean something to people, and perhaps they will have benefited from them.  I know that most of my family currently does not read my blog, and does not want to.  They are not interested in my writings.  Maybe they will be when I am gone.  Not that I have anything earth shattering to say, but perhaps they will understand me better then, and think more kindly of me.    I have bared my heart and soul on more than one occasion.  Maybe they will read a blog post or two for my eulogy.

One thought on “My legacy

  1. I too worry about, (I call it finding my purpose) leaving a legacy, making the world a little better off for me beung here. Making a difference in people’s lives and I think I have found that through blogging. I started my site with no expectations, I only wanted to recount my experiences in an abusive relationship in hopes itvwould help someone else. It has blossomed into almost a full time job; too bad it doesn’t pay 🙂 but money was never my objective.

    My family never reads my blog either, I send my mom some of the posts I am most proud of and when I get a heartwarming comment or email from a reader. She is always pleased for me and gives an obligatory compliment like, “You always did well in writing in school”. It disappoints me that my family has no interest in what I have to say. I know that if someone I live had a blog I would read it, I would want to know them better, but like you maybe when I die they will want to know who I was. Because what I wrote on my blog is me uncensored.
    Good post!

Leave a Reply

