Give me a Gun

gun

Will somebody please explain to me why needing a background check to buy a gun is a bad thing????? I don’t buy all this shit I see posted on my timeline. My timeline on Facebook is littered with pictures and slogans about Second Amendment Rights and having guns. Lots of guns. The Second Amendment is not all about “the right to bear arms.” Read it. In its entirety. If you can.

A gun is a lethal weapon. So is a car, in the wrong hands. Now please, before you get all up in my face about how guns don’t kill people, people kill people, you will notice that I did NOT add “in the wrong hands” after “a gun is a lethal weapon. Why? Cause good people kill with guns all the time. Cops. Soldiers. Hunters.

You need a license to drive a car. You need a background check on most anything. Why not on guns? Because all the bad guys will have them anyway?

I have a FOID card. I am planning on getting a gun, for target shooting and self-protection. Having said that, I hope to God I will never need to use it to kill another living creature. And NO, I am not against guns. And NO, I am not a vegetarian. Although I really can’t watch Animal Planet anymore, or stories about inhumane treatment of our food sources. And YES, I am a hypocrite about that issue. But I digress.

Let me tell you a true story about what happened to me regarding guns. Shortly after the Dark Knight theatre shootings in Aurora CO, I went to a matinee to see the same movie. It was an early afternoon show, but I was still nervous. I kept telling myself that the bad guys were sleeping in, they only came out at night.

As I pulled into a parking space in a mostly empty lot, I looked over at a guy who opened his trunk a few spaces down from me on the left. As I was unlocking my seat belt, I couldn’t help but notice that he picked up a huge handgun and stuck it in his belt. He turned his head and saw me looking at him, but then he continued rummaging around in his trunk, in a big black box full of ammo and guns. I could see down because I was sitting in my SUV. He was a big man. A big BLACK man. My hand slowly stopped with the seat belt, and my right hand shifted my car from park back into drive, without moving my arm. I was watching the man out of the corner of my eye as I slowly put my foot on the gas, trying to ease out of the parking space without calling attention to myself. I was acting on pure instinct, my fight or flight responses tingling in my body. I was ready to punch the gas and squeal out, weaving all the way to avoid bullets, if necessary.

The man immediately ran over to my window, while pulling something out of his pocket. Just as I was about to punch the gas, he said “Ma’am, I am a police officer, please don’t be scared! This is my badge!” I rolled down my window a crack and said “You can buy a police badge on the internet for like twenty bucks.” He started to laugh at that, and “no, really, I’m a cop, here’s my detective ID, look, here’s my bulletproof vest, you can call the number on my ID and ask about me”. I decided that maybe he was ok, so I got out of my truck. He had walked back to his car and turned on the lights to show me. I asked him why he had his gun on, and he said he really couldn’t say. He gave me card, and we walked towards the entrance together, talking. The whole time though I was thinking to myself, if he is going to The Dark Knight, I’m turning and running. He held the door open to the entrance for me, and then nodded to the ticket girl and walked on through. I drew a big sigh of relief and figured he was undercover because of the shootings. When I went inside, the ticket taker was searching purses etc. I actually was glad for the additional security, but I was still nervous. In the theatre, I kept looking around, to see if I could see the guy. No sign of him, but I really didn’t enjoy the movie as much as I could have if that hadn’t happened. I mean, I live in the boonies, and there’s a detective running around the theatre somewhere, in a bulletproof vest with a big gun on his hip, and many more in his car.

On the way home, I was thinking about the cop. Did I profile him as a shooter, because he was big and black? Maybe a little. Made me feel sort of ashamed, but then again, I would have felt the same way about the guy whether he was black, white or green. Afraid. I would have felt afraid. If I had a gun, would I feel less afraid? Would I be able to use it if necessary? I think if it came down to saving a life, I would use it.

So, I understand everybody wants their guns. What I don’t understand is WHY they want so many guns, especially assault weapons etc., and WHY they don’t want background checks. What do they have to hide? If they want guns and have nothing to hide, what’s the big deal?

Really, I think we would all be better off with hatchets anyway, or fireplace pokers, to kill all the zombies when they invade…..

Leave a Reply

