Keep your “selfies” to yourself!

duck face

Selfie/s is a new word I learned recently from a news program.  It refers to the latest trend of taking massive amounts of pictures of yourself (hence the selfie name) and posting them to social media, like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc.  There will usually be some gratuitous “duck lips” pictures present also.

Now, I do like to see pictures, especially pics of Facebook only friends, so I can put a face to the name.  But do I really need to see all kinds of “I’m bored”, “I’m drunk”, “I’m funny” pictures, multiple times a day, EVERY day?  Fishing for a compliment once in a while is great.  Expecting adoration on picture after picture is tiresome.

I would like to say this phenomenon is attributed mostly to the tweeners, but that is not the case.  Sadly there are grown women who abuse the self-portrait feature of their cameras or smart phones constantly.  I am guilty of it myself on occasion.  The news program I was watching says we are becoming a narcissistic society, where it’s all about us.  The selfies.  From what I see on my timeline some days, I would not disagree.

One thought on “Keep your “selfies” to yourself!

Leave a Reply

