Ruby Red Slippers

ruby_red_slippers

I want a pair so bad. No, I NEED a pair so bad.  I want to slip into a dream one night and wake up in the merry old land of Oz.  Everything is so bright and vivid and happy there (at least in the last movie).  Except for the wicked witches.  Who really weren’t all that wicked at all, and, some might say, were driven to their wickedness.  But I digress.  I love the story of Oz!

I want to click my magic heels three times and be back home, but home either in the past or the future.  Not home in the present.  That is what I am trying to escape.

I have to be honest here.  I do not like my life in the present right now.  I try to stay so positive, but it is so hard.  (Yes I know there are other people out there worse off than me, but at this point I don’t care anymore, you try laying in a hospital bed for almost a month and hobble around, it’s all about me me me, I’m a selfie).  I want to fast forward to when I am completely healed and can walk like a normal person.  Or I want to rewind to the days of being young and healthy, and knowing what I know now, take better care of myself so I don’t end up how I am here in the present.

I want to go on an adventure, like Dorothy, and then end up back home safe and sound , and appreciate my life all the more.  I want a Wizard to give me a new leg.  I want three friends like the Lion, Tin Man and Scarecrow to help me on my way, because we are all flawed and need help.  We help each other.

So Glenda, or Glinda, whatever, please help me get through this with a touch of your magic wand.  Spread glitter all over me so I shine bright like a diamond.  Transfer some of your goodness into my heart.  Oh, and I wouldn’t mind some of your blonde curls and blue eyes!

 

2 thoughts on “Ruby Red Slippers

Leave a Reply

