My Tribute to Reckless Ryan

MT
Dear Reckless Ryan MTfosho, beloved son, brother, father and fiancee,

You’re gone. Gone too young. Gone too soon. Damn. From what I have seen this week, with the swelling number of cars every night at Boots, many people are missing you. I know your parents, brother, Shannon, and your buddies are gonna miss you like crazy in this life. But I believe there is a heaven, and I bet you have started your own Monkey Tactics club up there in Paradise, and are riding to your hearts content. You can be as reckless as you want up there. Think of the stunts you can pull off! No limits, dude.

I remember hearing something about heaven once, that the little children grow older, and the older folks become young again. In their prime. Like around 25 years old. You won’t have to change a bit to fit in.

But now the reality. I can’t say that I know you as well as I wished I did right now.   I do know that the past few years our two families have come together to love our precious Brianna.  I think, in all honesty, that she is the best thing that has ever happened to all of us.

You and Shannon have had your ups and downs, but have loved each other for the past 10 years.  That’s a long time.  I think becoming engaged and living like a family on sleepover nights etc. made you and Shannon better parents, and better people as a result.  The love you had for each other and for Brianna showed through in so many ways.  I loved going to Bri’s birthday parties the past few years at Boots, it was always so fun.  She loved the blow-up houses so much, and got so much attention from everyone.  It was so apparent how much your family and all the Boots people  loved Bri, and it made my heart feel so good.

Shannon loved you so much, and as you guys got older, I really enjoyed the few times we got to hang out together and have a drink and a few laughs.  I know you loved your girls.  You and I had a long talk about that one night at Captains, and I felt I got to really know your true feelings then.  I was glad we had that talk.  Wish we could have a few more.

Your mom and dad have been the best grandparents.  They love Bri so much, and Bri loves her Nana and Papa so very much.  I can see it with my own eyes, every time I go to Boots.  We brought her to Boots a couple of Sundays ago for breakfast, and she had a pancake and lots of loving from everyone there.  I’m sure we will continue our tradition of Sunday morning breakfast there, it’s a real treat for all of us.  Your family and everyone there treats us so well.

You are the second person that Bri has lost in the past 9 months.  Important people.  People she loved and saw almost every day.  Her mommy’s Papa, and now you, her daddy.  Bri is so smart.  So strong.  She talks to Papa’s star every night.  Now she will talk to your star, too.  We will all keep your memory alive, up in the heavenly skies.

Your job now is keep your star bright, and wink at her every night.  Bring her peace and comfort, if you can.  Little children are so much more open to spirits, and I hope she can feel wrapped in the light of your love, and know it is her Daddy.  She said some amazing things to our family after Papa died, and I just know that he was talking to her in some way.  So it gives me hope that you can talk to her too, and give her comfort.  And, in turn, she will give comfort to Shannon and your family.  She is wise beyond her years.

I know Shannon will stay just as close to your family, and Bri will grow up knowing how much her Daddy loved her.  Nana and Papa and Uncle Jimi will keep you alive.  Crikey, all we have to do is look at her little face, and we can see you!  I loved seeing all of your pictures when you were little, and seeing your features on Bri.  She took the best from both you and Shannon and is a beautiful, smart, funny, and brave little girl. She is fearless. I wonder where she got that from 😉

Our time here on earth is just a blink of the eye, compared to eternity.  One day you will be reunited with all your loved ones, and then the real party starts.  For eternity.

Stay Forever Young, Aunt Janet

3 thoughts on “My Tribute to Reckless Ryan

Leave a Reply

