My Bucket List

bucket list

To lay in the grass, covered by a litter of golden retriever puppies.

To meet Gavin DeGraw, and sing with him. Just me and him.

To go on a cruise, and eat and drink and dance the night away!

To play the piano with ease.

To be in a theatre play, and act and sing. Or maybe just the church choir!

To finally get my first book published, and continue to write another one, all my own.

To visit Alaska – see the glacier, Denali, and ride the train from Anchorage to Seward!  Go on a sled ride with the huskies.  Mush!

To visit Australia and New Zealand. I believe they have gorgeous landscapes.

To have a beer in Germany during Oktoberfest.

To visit Ireland and drink in the lush greenery.

To take my beloved great nieces and nephews to Disneyland and watch the wonderment on their little faces.

To swim again with the dolphins, this time in the wild, where you can frolic and play in their natural environment.

To make a difference in people’s lives in a positive way.  I love my seniors in swim class, and so many of them remind me of my dearly departed mom whom I miss so much!

Most importantly, going to Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve with all the candles and beautiful voices rejoicing in the birth of Jesus, and then to wake up on Christmas morning snuggled up with a special loved one, having coffee in front of a crackling fireplace surrounded by the scent of a beautiful Christmas tree, with only a few meaningful gifts underneath.  Spending the rest of the day with beloved family and friends.

When my bucket list is complete, I will be ready to cross over to the Rainbow Bridge and be re-united with all my fur babies, who will then follow me into heaven to see my beloved family and friends who have passed before me.

What’s on YOUR bucket list?

3 thoughts on “My Bucket List

  1. Sad to say but my bucket list is just winning the lotto so I can do all kinds of things! Kinda like wishing for more wishes from a genie. Alaskan cruise for sure!

  2. That is a great list! My cousin lost her husband to cancer over 10 years ago.
    Just before he passed they were talking one evening when he couldn’t sleep. He wasn’t 50 yet but he told her that he had no regrets and there was nothing he wanted to do that he hadn’t done, he could die content. I thought to myself that not many people can say that no matter how old they are when they die.
    I thought I knew him pretty well but it wasn’t until his “celebration of life” that I really got the full scope of the man he was. I sat back in amazement as person after person got up and spoke about the charitable things he had done and accomplished.
    This guy was a Harley riding, long haired, short but big guy that looked pretty unapproachable. The pastor at his church talked about hearing a Harley drive past the church every Sunday drowning out his sermon until one day the sound stopped right at the church. He started his sermon again and then the big doors of the old church creaked open and Dani, dressed head to toe in black leather, a dew rag on his head, wearing Dayton’s that echoed off the church walls. The whole church turned to look and Dani motioned to the pastor to carry on with his sermon as he picked a seat at the back of the church. He never missed a Sunday after that.
    He was successful in business, they lived comfortably, unbeknownst to anyone but his wife and a few church members he built an old age home. He became a Sunday school teacher, when he got cancer he taught doctors how to deal with patients and took part in research, my cousin and him had a baby when she was 41 and he was almost 50. Even after his death for over a year my cousin discovered things she hadn’t even known; like he had been paying the rent for a down and out friend for years.
    At his memorial they read his favorite poem and it was the one about how a person lives the dash. That it doesn’t matter when you are born or when you die; its how you live the time between the two that counts.
    I want to live a life like that; no regrets, and when I leave this earth to go meet up with my little buddies at the rainbow bridge I hope I leave the world better off because I was there.
    There is nothing I want to do that I haven’t done. I just want to make the best of what ever the future holds.
    Sorry for the length of this comment, you got me really thinking and it just gushed out. 🙂

  3. Mine is quite similar to yours! I want to see a glacier AND the Northern Lights. Lay on the ground and be covered in boxer puppies instead and be sitting in a Barnes and Noble bookstore at a book signing for my children’s book I would like to publish. I would take a cruise too and believe it or not I have had a beer in Germany during Octoberfest. I actually got to live there for over a year.

    I love your stories Jan! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

