Blow on this, you Quackers!

DDI think most of America is aware that the Duck Dynasty clan has been taking a bit of heat lately due to what their patriarch Phil Robertson has to say about gays and African Americans.  Oh, and now add to that a comment he made a few years back about marrying teenage girls before they get too old to pick your pocket.

Whew.  Quite the conundrum for the A&E Network.  Duck Dynasty has been a ratings buster for A&E, even beating out Breaking Bad season finale.  First they suspended Phil from the show, then they changed their minds once they saw the $$$ rolling out the door.  Now?  I’m sure more of these old comments are going to surface, made by Phil or one of the clan.  Can’t take down the dynasty?  Look what happened to Paula Dean.  Her huge empire was taken down in a flash.

A&E is going ahead with their backing of Duck Dynasty, in the face of boycotts and death threats by fanatics of the show.  I don’t really watch the show, so I don’t have an opinion either way on whether or not I would be heartbroken if the show didn’t go on.  Yes, I believe you have the right to say what you want (the 1st Amendment) but since even the US Supreme Court has struggled with exactly what constitutes free speech, I believe in free speech WITHIN REASON.  I’m not going to be the one yelling “FIRE!” in a crowded theatre.  Likewise, I believe that public figures should temper their remarks in public, being mindful of their audience.

So Duck Dynasty will go on as planned, unless the sponsors (who bring in the $$$$) start to slowly and quietly slip away.  In that case, I see a cancelled show on the horizon.  But Duck Dynasty is an example of capitalism at its best.  Take a bunch of clean-cut college educated rich guys, and make them into “fake” rednecks with flowing beards, and more money starts rolling in.  I don’t think you would have seen the guys playing ping pong in the warehouse instead of doing inventory back when the company was started.  Luckily they are in a position now that they can play hard instead of work hard.  They are laughing all the way to the bank, stroking on their money-infused beards.

What is YOUR opinion on the clan, or the network’s decision?

6 thoughts on “Blow on this, you Quackers!

    • Ok so I just read the first few chapters of Phil’s book, and yes, he is a real redneck. BUT, his boys did go to college, and were clean cut before the show (at least from the pictures I’ve seen posted on Google). Of course, a beard doesn’t make you a redneck. I just think they play it up a bit. So, I do see that Phil is a real character, and probably always will be!

  1. Ha, I’ve never watched it and haven’t a clue as to what Duck Dynasty is – and I won’t give up my limited and valuable time to find out what a gratuitous reality show is about. But I’m with you re free speech within reason, and I believe in respect and healthy boundaries. They’ve certainly gotten themselves a lot of attention over whatever it is and that should boost their rates. The older I get the more hilarious (and woeful) it gets, to watch the human race.

  2. There are very few “reality” shows, the only ones I can think of are Deadliest Catch and Highway through Hell (I think that’s the name of it, its a Canadian show about the tow trucks in the Coquahala Hwy near here). As for Duck Dynasty, Honey Boo Boo and all the Housewife shows, God help us if that is reality!

Leave a Reply

