No, I don’t want to listen!

abuseThe LATEST post I have seen on Facebook is asking how long can you listen to elephants screaming while being shot.  I’m serious.  I have asked repeatedly for people not to post this shit on my page, but somehow it always ends up there.  Starving dogs, cats, horses….you name it, I’ve seen it.

I don’t watch Animal Planet anymore for this reason.  You never know when a show or a commercial will pop up.  Even network TV is awful.  As soon as I hear the sad songs starting, I run from the room.  I can’t event trust myself to change the channel before catching a glimpse of something that will keep me awake for nights.

The begging, the pleading, for money to help the poor starving creatures.  Showing the pictures to break your heart.  Almost as disturbing as the pictures of the starving children in Africa, with their big eyes and bloated bellies.

PLEASE, I beg of you in the name of all that is holy, DON’T SHOW ME THIS SHIT ANYMORE!  TAKE IT AWAY!  They should at least give you warning before they show it.  I can’t take it, I don’t want to see it, get it away!

I do donate.  I donate to my church to help people.  I donate to Animal Rescue, crikey I buy clothes and jewelry there!  I donate to my Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation.

It’s not the begging for money part that upsets me.  I understand that they need to get people’s sympathy so they will open up their hearts and their wallets to these causes.  I just don’t want to see the pathetic pictures that will be playing as reruns across my eyelids for months to come when I try to sleep.

And I’m a hypocrite.  I don’t want to see animals starving or injured or hurt.  I could never imagine killing an animal.  But I will eat them.  I will enjoy a good steak, with juices running down.  I will cook a whole chicken.  I am a hypocrite.

These used to be living, breathing creatures.  And they way they end up on our plates is NOT just the neat tidy packages we buy at the store.  I’m sure if I ever did go to a slaughterhouse I would never eat meat again.  Maybe I should.

Now, I wouldn’t go so far as not to drink milk or eat eggs.  You don’t have to kill an animal to get that.  Although they are not necessarily treated very well to get these products.

Geez.  OK.  Now I am REALLY depressed.

Leave a Reply

