True confessions of a blog writer

writer

I leave a pad and pen by my bed because I will wake up after a great dream and think of a perfect topic, and want to write it down before it leaves my head. Then I wake up in the morning and all I see is jibberish. Reminds me of the time I was in the hospital after surgery and trying to write about my experience while on heavy drugs! lol.

It’s not easy being a blogger.  You write stories and put them out there for the whole world to see.  Some of your stories are light-hearted.  Some of your stories are full of your emotions, good and bad.  Some of your stories are full of your pain.  And sometimes, actually most of the time, the world could care less.

It is hard to get a following.  People might read your blog, but never *like or comment on it.  And it’s all about the stats when it comes to being a so-called “successful” blogger.  I have seen some bloggers go viral overnight because of ONE particular blog they wrote.  I have seen some bloggers who post new stories every day and have very few followers.  Followers are fickle.  It hard to figure out what moves them enough to follow you, and to stay involved enough to comment, and discuss, and argue, and really think about the material.

Most popular bloggers have thousands of followers and hundreds of comments for each post.  They have lovers and haters, both of which just increase their popularity.  They may be popular right out of the box, or they may have been posting for years.

I will admit I am jealous of these popular bloggers.  Sometimes I write a story that I think will touch the hearts of millions, but nobody reads them.  So then I get discouraged, and don’t post new stories regularly.  Which just leads to any progress I had made to just peter out.

I guess I have just not found my niche yet.  I tend to flit around in my blog posts, and write about everything in general and nothing in particular.  And actually, this post was going to be something entirely different, until I started writing it.  My fingers just start typing, and I let them go wherever.  Maybe I should be more disciplined.  Maybe I just don’t know.

Here’s the thing.  It’s hard to know if you are doing right or wrong if you get no feedback.  I have people tell me that they read my blog and love it, but I had no way of knowing that.  Unless someone comments, or likes, I have no idea who reads my blog.

Now I sound like I am whining and complaining that nobody reads my blog.  That was not my original purpose on writing this particular post.  But a girl could use some validation.  Right?

Please let me know your thoughts on my blog.  It would help point me in the right direction, and whether or not I should pursue my writing.

9 thoughts on “True confessions of a blog writer

  1. No one ever (really) comments on mine either … Since I link to it through twitter and Facebook, most people comment through social media. I sometimes think as you have expressed here … but most I’m just writing for myself so I’m okay with it. How about this: I’ll comment on yours if you comment on mine! 🙂 (www.katherineandtheriver.blogspot.com)

  2. I like your blog, Jan! You’re a good writer. You have stimulating ideas and an engaging way with words. I wish you had more repliers. I wonder if part of it is that the comments aren’t directly after the blog entry, quick and easy to see, on the same page?

    • Helen, there is a section a little bit down that says Leave a Reply, maybe people don’t scroll down far enough? I wonder how to fix that…. But thanks so much for your comment, means the world to me!

  3. I think that a lot of it has to do with interaction and how much effort are you putting in to “drawing an audience in.” That is the key step many people miss when they wonder “why am I not getting any likes or comments?” It is like sifting for diamonds, the more rocks you turn over the closer you will get to the audience you are looking for. Hope that helps a little bit. -OM

  4. I read them and I enjoy them. usually I read them on my phone and it’s difficult to reply. but don’t stop writing! you have a gift!

Leave a Reply

