They’re back! Those lovely Chantix dreams

dreams

When I quit smoking forever ago, I took Chantix, because I didn’t think I could do it myself. I had failed once before after being smoke-free for exactly one year. I quit on my small bowel resection surgery day, and started up again on the one year anniversary when I was fired from my job after a hostile take-over. (Beware of smiling faces. They don’t tell the truth. Tell lies and I got proof).

But I digress. (There goes that whole “my life is a song lyric” thing). So I bought a pack of cigarettes, to deal with the stress. Only a pack. Until the next day, when I bought a whole carton.

I sure wasn’t proud of myself. In fact I was so ashamed I tried to hide it, and only smoked in the privacy of my own home. In the bathroom with the fan on. Like back in high school. Except I didn’t smoke in high school. But whatever. I got busted by my niece, who kept my secret until my habit took over and I threw caution to the wind and smoked in public again. Wow where people disappointed.

So I decided to take charge again. This time I knew I need chemical help to get this monkey off my back. They say that nicotine is harder to quit than cocaine etc. Can’t personally compare, but I wouldn’t be surprised. One more….it always drags you back. One more means you are still a smoker. Not many people can be just “social smokers”. I know I can’t.

So, I went the Chantix route. My doctor advised me about the vivid dreams I might have. Boy she wasn’t kidding! My experience on Chantix was AWESOME! First off, I quite smoking after 1 1/2 cigarettes. I kid you not. It not only turned off my nicotine receptors in my brain, it made me quite nauseous to even think about ever smoking another cigarette. Still does to this day, almost 10 years later.

But the best part was the dreams! I wrote a previous post about the dreams, they were so incredible! Realistic, colorful, rewindable, incredible dreams! I really missed them, those dreams.

Well, they’re back! I’m not sure why. For whatever reason, I am grateful. They come during a long cold winter, and add some excitement to my life. Don’t get me wrong, they are not all sunshine and puppy dog dreams. Sometimes they are very realistic dreams that hit home in my most venerable spots. Because isn’t that what dreaming is all about? Often I wake up and have to think for a minute what my reality is.

For the most part, my dreams as of late are once again full of action, color, drama etc. I try to write them down when I wake up but usually end up writing nonsensical drivel.

Oh well.  Still provides me with hours of entertainment, lol.  How are you?  Do you have vivid dreams?  Please share with the class!

2 thoughts on “They’re back! Those lovely Chantix dreams

  1. Wow..So I have always had dreams. Precognitive and some just wild gibberish. I too decided to start Chantix about 3 days ago to help me quit smoking as well. So the first 2 nights, I had a weird gibberish dream or two.. However as I write this, I am doing so after searching “ChantixSuppressed” – Why? Because I had what felt like a 2 plus hour dream where I was receiving closure from my ex husband and the woman he cheated on me with 3 years ago! I thought I was GOOD but apparently my subconscious begs to differ! It was AMAZING- I mean…so detailed and such a logical rational conversation! I ended the dream in tears saying”Thank You- I have the closure I need..and then woke up. This is something else! I was wondering if by any chance Chantix not only deals with smoking addiction but any other suppressed issues that may arise?

    • Hi Scorpio! Well, they say that dreams help you work out your subconscious issues. I know that the chemical ingredient suppresses the nicotine receptors in your brain. Since you do get a little wash of dopamine, that has no place to go in the receptors, maybe it helps with other parts of the brain? I’m not sure. I know a lot of people did not like the dreams. But I did!

Leave a Reply

