My take on the Oscars

Jlaw

Ok. let’s start at the beginning.  Jennifer Lawrence ( J Law) tripped AGAIN.  But she did it early in the day, getting out of her limo, so she started things off right.

The red carpet was its usual glam fest, asking people who are they wearing.  There were definitely some hits and misses, but I am not a fashion queen.  I think everybody looked wonderful.  I thought Kate Hudson looked stunning, and also Lupita Nyong’o (more on them later).

So, just a few comments on what stood out to me.

Ellen, you did a good job, as we knew you would.  Couple of jokes in the intro fell flat (“Sir” Liza Minelli), but for the most part they were well received.  Your interaction with the audience was stellar.  You brought down Twitter with your celebrity picture, so kudos to you!  Most retweeted photo ever!

On to the awards.  Not sure why they start out with one important one, and then fill the majority of time with awards that are not of interest to most of us, leaving the best awards for the end when the show has run out of time and most people want to go to bed.  But all the awards are important I guess.

Best Supporting Actor is the first award, which goes to…..Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club!  He gave a wonderful speech and in my opinion, well, look for yourself…

jaredjesus

One step closer to Jesus!

Kim Novak, wth, why do people insist on plastic surgery?  You are a beautiful woman, age gracefully!  Not with the tell tale marionette lines!

kimnovak

 

 

 

 

kim2

 

 

 

 

 

John Travolta, wtf?  Horrible hair piece, and please, learn the name of the person you are introducing.  One name, that’s all you needed to know.

Kate Hudson looked so awesome when she came out to present.  I wish she would give Goldie some tips on how to do her hair and makeup.  She looked like an aging prom queen.  But then again, don’t we all?  Sigh.

So many great actors, so many great movies this year.  Truthfully, I was torn on who should win.  I would have been happy with any of them.

In the beginning it looked like Gravity was cleaning up.  But towards the end the tide turned, and other movies started winning the important Oscars.

Cate Blanchet’s speech was great, but I’m sure everybody noticed the lack of clapping when she mentioned Woody Allen’s name.  That’s all I’m going to say about that.

I loved Matthew McConaughey’s win.  When I saw him in Dallas Buyers Club, he really freaked me out, he and Jared were like skeletons.  So not only was his acting great, he really had to suffer to lose that weight beforehand.  40 pounds for someone who is not overweight to begin with is very difficult to lose!  I loved his speech, and was happy he threw in his trademark “alright alright alright!”.  However, I guess people in the LBGT community were upset he said nothing about AIDS.

And the grand prize Best Picture goes to……12 Years a Slave!!!!!!!

clap

All the movies were so great (well most of them) and I saw most of them and loved them all.

None of the big winners were any shock to me, in fact they were predicted fairly well.  I am happy for all the winners, and the nominees.  Even if you don’t win, you will always be introduced as “Oscar nominated” or “Academy Award nominated” actor or actress.  So it’s a win/win situation.

Congratulations to everyone!

Leave a Reply

