Don’t take your body freedom for granted – Take Two

Remembering when I posted this a few weeks back, I knew never to take things for granted again.  Boy I sure wish I could go back in time……truly worse than I imagined.  But it is what it is…..

Body freedom. What do I mean by that?

In less than two weeks, I will again be hooked up to machines, IV’s, walkers, canes etc. This time for the long haul. This will be a six month process, start to finish.

I remember last year, when I was FINALLY able to walk without my walker after about 4 months. I could get up and go to the bathroom! I could carry coffee without spilling! I felt so free!

Then when my leg wounds finally healed after months of months of surgeries, and bleed outs and changing bandages constantly, wrapping leg in waterproof plastic/bandages too take a shower. I felt so free!

Then my PICC line finally went, and no more 3x daily infusions with all the Vanco balls and flushing lines and blood tests and wrapping the arm in waterproof plastic/bandages that still managed to get wet because how do you bandage your own upper arm properly? Finally. I felt so free!

I have been grateful EVERY DAY since then for those small freedoms. It may not sound like much, but when you are tethered like that for months and months, it is so wonderful. Simply wonderful.

Now, I have another six months of this same stuff ahead of me. Only worse.

Only worse. God help me. I may lose my mind this time, along with my body.

I can’t wait to truly be body free!

3 thoughts on “Don’t take your body freedom for granted – Take Two

  1. Sending you positive thoughts and healing vibes! Hope everything goes according to plan and you heal well. Will be thinking of you. And yes, being in good health is definitely liberating. Hope you get to have that as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

