If I knew then….

jan youngMy Thursdays are ruined forever.  Thanks to #TBT (Throw Back Thursday), I now have serious picture envy…… of my younger days when I was skinny and fun and pretty but didn’t either think it or know it.  Crikey, I was 5’10” and weighed 150# and thought I was fat.  Pfffft.

Let’s face it, we all age.  Some better than others.  I probably have aged average on the outside, not so good on the inside.  Years of steroids and chemo treatments for my Crohn’s has not been kind to me.  Immune suppressor drugs were a cause of my malignant melanoma cancer, which ate up about 6 months of my life, and not in a fun way.  I have Crohn’s related arthritis which caused me to have a hip replacement at a fairly early age, and we all know how THAT went!

I’m doing better lately.  My Crohn’s has been much better since surgery to remove about 3-4 of bad intestine.  My hip is getting better, although I will always feel the nuts/bolts/screws/plates in my hip, and it still does hurt.  I will never be normal in that regard again, but at least I can walk.

I wish I could go back and tell myself to enjoy my youth and good health!  We take things for granted.   There’s a lot more things I would say, but that’s a story for another day.

I enjoy watching my nieces and nephews and great-nieces and nephews grow up.  Life is so much different now than it was back when I was a kid.  I want them to have the BEST life ever.  I want them to have all the advantages life has to offer.  I want them to grow up happy.  I want them to do well, and be good people.  I want them to KNOW that THIS is the time of their lives, and to ENJOY it!

It’s so funny to hear them say the same things to thseir parents that we said to our parents, and vice-versa.  Music is too loud, kids have it good, we had to walk to school 5 miles, our parents spanked us, etc. etc. etc.  Every generation has its unique characteristics.  I was a baby boomer, but I enjoy this generation better I think.  I hated the 70’s and the hair styles and clothing etc., and I knew it back then.  We did have great music tho, lol.

So I’ll continue posting my #TBT pictures, and reminisce about the good times we had in the past.  I will value the pics of my mom and dad and grandma and cousins and brother-in-law.  I will look at the smile on my face in those pictures and be grateful that I was happy, and grew up happy for the most part.  Many people still tell me I’m a smiley person.

I’mma gonna stay that way!

 

 

Leave a Reply

