To see, or not to read. That is the question

read1Another two movies are coming out in the next few week based on books, This is Where I Leave You and The Maze Runner.  These are just a couple of many lately that are trying to become the next Twilight, or Hunger Games, and cash in on a popular book or series of books.

Harry Potter, The Hobbit…..there have been many good ones.  Then, there have been many that have died a disinterested death.  Think Beautiful Creatures, Mortal Instruments and Vampire Academy.

Ender’s Game was a great book, and I thought the movie was good.  Not too many other people did.  The Host, I still am upset about The Host.  It should have done better than it did.  I LOVED that book.  The Giver was an old book, and Jeff Bridges tried for many years to bring it to life, and finally did.  I liked it ok, again, not good reviews.

A few other fared a bit better.  Divergent was popular, so the next few are in the works, and I am glad.  The Fault in Our Stars was great, but a one off.  If I Stay did ok.

Here are some others coming up very soon that I am looking forward to.  Gone Girl, Left Behind, Mocking Jay, 50 Shades of Grey.  I’m betting that Mocking Jay (the next Hunger Games movie) and 50 Shades do very well.  I was initially not too happy with the casting for 50 Shades, but after watching the trailer, I have changed my mind.  If you are not a 50 Shades fan, I urge you to watch the trailer, you may change your mind!

Other books/series/trilogies that I love that are in the works for possible movies are Legend, The Hunt Trilogy, The Born Trilogy, The Lunar Chronicles, The Survival Trilogy, The Water Keepers, The Lorien Legacies, The Selection series, Blood of Eden, Collapse series, Shatter me series, Under the Never Sky series, The Partial Sequence series, Before I Fall, Panic, The Delirium series, The Fallen series, The Matched series, and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  Most of these books fall into the YA (Young Adult) category, and are utopian/dystopian/futuristic type books, which are very popular and appeal to a large section of both readers and movie goers.

So.  I guess I am wondering if it is better to:

1.  Read the book before the movie

2.  Just see the movie

3.  See the movie and then read the book

Reading the book before the movie tends to lead to expectations that are sometimes not fulfilled.  Some people get very upset if the movie maker takes any kind of liberty with the book at all.  Other people get lost if they haven’t read the book first because the movie leaves out plot details.  Difficult.  Very difficult.  A no win situation it seems, except for a very few lucky ones that appeal to both the book readers and movie goers.

I’m still on the fence about  it.  What do you think?

Oh, and yes, I HAVE read all of the afore-mentioned books.  Mostly in the past year or so.  Lots of time in hospitals/nursing homes. 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

