Before you buy that football jersey……

adrianFirst Ray Rice.  Now Adrian Peterson.  This is his little boy that he beat allegedly beat with a branch switch, that left marks and open cuts on his legs, buttocks and hands.  HE WAS FOUR FRICKIN’ YEARS OLD.

The proof is there.  Pictures were posted, after he went for a routine doctor’s visits when he was returned home to his mother.  Routine?  The mother didn’t see the marks on her son?  She didn’t raise hell about it?  WTF?

Peterson did not hide what he did.  He told the police about the whole incident very matter-of-factly.  He did not feel he had done anything wrong.  He had even texted the mother and told her when he was “whooping” the child that he did not realize the “switch” was wrapping around the little boy’s legs and leaving marks on his thighs and scrotum.  Peterson grew up with whoopings, and he stated in the police interview ” Peterson said he would reconsider using switches in the future, but said he would never “eliminate whooping my kids . . . because I know how being spanked has helped me in my life.”

Here’s the sad thing.  Among many sad things.  This kind of stuff goes on all across America, every day.  Whether it be the wife, the girlfriend, the child, the elder…or yes, even the man….somebody is getting beat on.  Somebody is experiencing physical and/or mental abuse.  These NFL players only come to light because of the fame, altho it is said that pro athletes have a higher rate of abuse because of the violent nature of the game they play.  They take it home with them.

Take a look at that picture at the top again.  Adrian Peterson is 6’2″, 217 pounds.  His son is FOUR YEARS OLD.  He got beat because he was fighting with his brother, who was five.  Now, don’t forget, one of Peterson’s sons DIED last year as a victim of aggravated assault by the mother’s boyfriend.  The child was TWO YEARS OLD.  At the time, Adrian made this statement to the press:

“I plan on playing Sunday,” he said. “I will be playing Sunday, correct that. I’ll be ready to roll, focused. I’m worried about getting a W on Sunday, being 1-0… You know, football is something I will always fall back on. It gets me through tough times. Just being around the guys in here, that’s what I need in my life, guys supporting me and just being able to go out and play this game I love. Things that I go through, I’ve said a thousand times, it helps me play this game to a different level. I’m able to kind of release a lot of my stress through this sport, so that’s what I plan on doing.”

Hmmm.  He obviously didn’t release enough stress through football!  And if it seems like he has a lot of small children, you would be right.  He will not admit to how many children he has fathered but sources say around 7.  He has never been married.

So before you run out and buy that expensive football jersey with a player’s name and number on the back….you might want to just go generic.  Otherwise you will be wearing a jersey of the next scandal.   Who knows who’s next.  😦

P.S.  Twitter is full of people upset about their Fantasy Football picks…….guess they’ll have to make some new rules on what to do when your top pick gets suspended or fired for abuse.

 

One thought on “Before you buy that football jersey……

  1. I was VERY disappointed to learn today that the Minnesota Vikings have reactivated Adrian Peterson. I don’t care WHAT they say, I saw the pictures of what he did to that boy, he is a child abuser!

    I say the main reason he was reactivated is because Minnesota lost pretty bad yesterday.

Leave a Reply

