Hot guy in a pick ’em up truck

pickup

So.  Something happened to me today.  I THINK it was a good thing.  Although in this day and age, who knows.  What happened?  Well it all started with a hot guy in a pickup truck….

After swim class this morning I ran into the Wal-Mart quick, with sweats on, wet hair and no makeup on. After unloading my groceries in my car in the rain I went to put the cart back across the aisle.  A man in a pickup waved me across, so I went.  He waited, and then he waved me back across the aisle again. Then he rolled down his window and said, “Excuse Ma’am, but are you married?”  I was stunned and didn’t know what to say, so I said yes I’m married. Then he said “Well he sure is a lucky man!”, and looked at me very appreciatively.  I stuttered out a thank you and got in my car.  I sat there for a few minutes, thinking the man must have been insane.  He was very good looking!  Was he blind? Not that I could tell.  His eyes were stunning, I think that’s why I was so tongue tied.  I love eyes.  And teeth.  Love good teeth.  He had dark hair and gold eyes and a big white smile, with all his teeth (hey, this is in the Wal-Mart parking lot!)

I shook my head, and then thought up all the witty things I should have said.  Things like, “Hang out here often?”  “Wanna get a burger at Blue Top?”  (The Culvers in front).  “What made you stop?  The wet hair rain drizzle look?”  “Did you like my hip action?  It’s my limp from my new hip replacement”.  Boy, I am one sexy momma out there!

Is this the new dating world?  Men in pickups checking out chicks in the Walmart parking lot?  It crossed my mind to go look for him and tell him, NO, I’m NOT married!  But then I thought, maybe he was a predator of some sort.  I mean, get real, from my description, why would a guy hit on me like that unless he wanted to tie me up and….gulp.  Ok, I’ve read too many books on that subject.  He wasn’t sparkly like a vampire (but it WAS raining), and he wasn’t all furry like a werewolf (but it was day time), and he didn’t look alien or like he had super powers.  He looked….normal.

So.  I’m just going to think of it as a compliment, and next time I go to the Wal-Mart, I’m going to style my hair and put some makeup on.  Who knows what can happen then?

What do you think?  Do you think he was normal, or something else?  I would love to hear your thoughts!

9 thoughts on “Hot guy in a pick ’em up truck

  1. You’re funny! But didn’t it make your day? One time I ran into RiteAid because the girls were sick and just threw on a flannel shirt and jeans and my hair pulled in a ponytail and this guy held the door for me and said how nice I looked. And I felt I looked like crap but it really made me feel better about myself and I think back about it to this day.

  2. I think he noticed you for several reasons. one, you weren’t afraid to shop in the rain. too many silly women are. two, you are a good person, as evidenced by the fact you were returning that basket. two few people do. three, you ARE pretty and I bet you smiled at him when he waved you across the first time, and he saw then that you were indeed a very pretty woman.

  3. Jan, speaking from a guy point of view, I think you underestimate your beauty. I can only imagine your smile and gorgeous blue eyes spoke volumes to this guy and he knew he just had to take a chance and say hello!

  4. I say take it as a compliment and start hanging around WalMart parking lot. it has happened several times in my life that I thought I was looking my worst and got asked out by a really good looking guy. I don’t know what it is, maybe we look more approachable. You are attractive though so I would venture a guess that he is a single guy who doesn’t go to bars to meet women and how else is he going to meet an attractive woman if he doesn’t approach strange ladies in walmart parking lot?

Leave a Reply

