You get paid the big bucks

dollar

I remember when I worked at a small manufacturing company.  I was part of Management, and we had lots of hourly workers who ran machines in the plant.  There was one cafeteria that was shared by all.

Being a social person, I was friendly with everyone, no matter what their position.  I enjoyed talking with them at break time etc.

A couple of people started to tease me/joke with me about how I had a nice office and good job and made the “big bucks”.  It didn’t really bother me at first, but then I got to thinking about it.

One day, when someone made the usual comment, I looked right at their table and said, “Well, if you want to put yourself through 4 years of college by working until midnight every day your junior and senior year of high school, and then working 40 hours a week away at college while going to classes, be my guest.  Then get a job at a Fortune 100 company and work on average 60 hours a week while going to grad school, taking a double load of classes and summer school, to get your MBA.  Then fight your way out of an abusive alcoholic boss situation at work and end up here.  When you’re done with all that, then come to me and say you want the big bucks too.  By then you will have earned it.”

There was silence for a few moments.  Most people probably assumed I came from a wealthy family who sent me to college and gave me everything I needed.  Nope.  Not the case at all.  I worked for every dime, took out school loans, repaid them immediately, and never had any of the luxuries at school that my friends did.  I joined a sorority mainly because it was cheaper to live there than at the dorms.  Most of my sorority sisters would call up daddy on the phone to replenish their checking accounts.  Not me.  I was out working.  I worked at the local Burger King as the night shift manager, doing scheduling and bookkeeping etc.  Then I got a full time job working for the Comptroller of the university, who let me leave to go to class.  He was a great boss, and I am indebted to him forever.

Anyway, I got a great education, and I feel good about how I got it.  Nobody handed it to me on a silver platter.  I did have lots of fun in college, I mean, I was in a sorority, hello!  And I worked my ass off in grad school, and got great grades.  I am PROUD of myself for these accomplishments.  I got them on my own.

I wish that some people would take the initiative to do this instead of complaining about their dead end minimum wage jobs, or being too lazy to do anything.  I wish some parents would kick their kid’s butts in gear, instead of babying them.  Even though I wish my parents had been able to afford to send me to college, they actually did me a favor by making me work for what I wanted.

Cause that’s how you make the big bucks.  You EARN them.

 

Leave a Reply

