The British are coming! The British are coming!

british

Yes they are, and they are currently in a theatre house near you.

Now, I certainly have nothing but admiration for the British, as I am almost all Brit heritage myself, but imagine my surprise when I noticed that most of the cast of Selma is British and so is the Screenplay writer!  Last time I checked, Martin Luther King, Jr. was American born and raised.  Have we no American actors to portray him?  I think we do.  I think we have plenty.

With that said, there are MANY British actors in American movies lately.  And Australian.  Oh and British includes England, Irish and Scotland 🙂

Alex Pettyfer, Theo James, Henry Cavill, Tom Hardy, Luke Evans, Charlie Hunnam, Robert Pattinson, Orlando Bloom, Jude Law, Joshua Bowman, Kit Harrington, Idris Elba, Nicholas Hoult, Andrew Garfield, Gerard Butler, Craig Ferguson, Sam Heughan (my 3 favorite Scots!), Christian Bale, Daniel Craig, Andrew Lincoln, Clive Owen, Benedict Cumberbatch, Daniel Radcliffe, to name just a few Brits.

Onto the Aussies…Nicole Kidman, Keith Urban, Hugh Jackman, Chris Hemsworth, Liam Hemsworth, Cate Blanchette, Sam Worthington, Geoffrey Rush, Jesse Spencer, Mel Gibson….

Ok my fingers are tired, I could go on and on.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE all these actors!  And they all can speak perfect American!  lol  It’s so funny when you see an actor in a movie or TV show, and then you see an interview with them, and they are speaking the Queen’s English, and you never realized they weren’t American!

Now, if they are getting parts in American movies, than obviously they are better than the American actors that also audition, right?  I guess so.  But when you make a movie about an AMERICAN icon such as Martin Luther King Jr., I just think that maybe an AMERICAN should play him.

I mean, maybe we should have Meryl Streep play Queen Elizabeth rather than Helen Mirren.  Hmmm, not a good comparison, Meryl Streep can play ANYTHING, lol.  But you get my drift.

I know that being an actor means you can take on any persona and play it perfectly. But sometimes you just need home grown.

Of course, it also seems weird to me that in this day and age, we have straight actors playing gay parts, and gay actors playing straight parts.  We have enough of both of them, so why not let them play what comes natural to them?  I am a straight woman, and even if I was an actress, I would not be comfortable playing a gay woman.  I want my love scenes with a man dammit!  A perfect example of this is Matt Bomer.  Everybody was clamoring for him to play Christian Grey in Fifty Shades of Grey.  Yes, Matt is quite stunning in many ways, but he is first and foremost a gay man who is married to Simon Halls and has 3 children.  I myself wanted Ian Somerhalder, who is the most gorgeous man in the world to play Christian, but Jamie Dornan (Irish!) was chosen.  After seeing the promos, he will do just fine.  Jamie is straight, and gorgeous, and has those liquid eyes.  You know, those eyes you just melt into.  I believe I have spoken about liquid eyes in previous posts….

Okay, back to business.  Actors are actors and movies are movies, and we need one for the other.  But I feel we shouldn’t stray or stretch out further than actually needed to fill these roles.  I personally feel that an actor is more comfortable playing something closer to his actual real persona.  After Sons of Anarchy was over (boo hoo) I saw an interview with Charlie Hunnam who played Jax.  He is British, and he said it took him the whole first season to get comfortable with speaking with proper accent, and he really didn’t get into his role until the second season.  See what I mean?  Imagine having to speak a totally different type of jargon/accent etc., all the time, every word.  Gets tiring. Jolly good and all that other rot.  Throw another shrimp on the barbie.

Crikey, I can’t even understand the accents in our own U.S. of A. sometimes.  I go down south and I have no idea what people are saying, lol.  I don’t think they do either sometimes!  So many dialects, just in our own country!  It’s unbelievable how many different ways you can speak English!

So, carry on mate, don’t mean to be cheeky, off to bed I go before I lose the plot!

 

 

Leave a Reply

