Take my money, please!

I came late to the Parenthood party so I called up my expensive Xfinity On Demand to do some catching up.  I saw this season, but missed the first five.

Imagine my delight when I saw all first five seasons listed!  Quickly I punched up Season One.  Imagine my dismay when I saw they wanted an additional $10.99.  Per Season.  For Network TV.  NBC.

When did the LOCAL channels start ripping us off?  Is it not enough that the cable companies charge us exorbitant fees to watch digital “expanded” cable so we can watch channels like FX or Nat Geo?  And then charge us extra for Premium channels?  And then charge us extra for “faster” internet?  The monthly cable bill has turned into a car payment for crikey sake!

FX pissed me off first.  You can’t watch shit on FX.  They will release a few episodes of a show when the new season starts, but not a whole season.  Nope.  And even trying to watch it online, it checks first to see if you pay for it with your cable subscription.  AMC is bad too.

Then you have to have the premium channels, to watch Game of Thrones on HBO, Outlander on Starz, The Knick on Cinemax, Homeland and The Affair on Showtime.  Crikey.  It used to be that I was happy with just HBO, I was glad they were the only real Premium channel to have good shows.  Now they ALL do!

I tried Netflix on my Roku box.  Is it just me, or is everything really old, and you can’t find anything unless you know EXACTLY what you are looking for?  I gave it up.

Sometimes I will pay for a movie on Amazon or iTunes on my Roku.  Sometimes I will pay for a movie On Demand.  Which seems like a shame, seeing as how I have 4 premium movie channels I am paying for.

I keep saying I’m going to cut the cord.  I keep looking for the perfect alternative.  I haven’t found it yet, and I’m pissed.  I know SOME channels are going to allow subscription to their channel only, like HBO and CBS.  But by the time you add all the channels you want on a one-by-one basis, it becomes cost prohibitive.  And unfortunately I do NOT want to wait until the shows come out on DVD or Netflix or whatever.  I will wait a day or two, but no more than that.

I need to stop this madness.  If you have any suggestions for me, let me know!

One thought on “Take my money, please!

  1. If you figure it out let me know!! Parenthood–the first 5 season are on Netflix. We have talked about getting rid of Comcast and just having Hulu and Netflix but we would miss live sports and Disney Jr. for the kids.

Leave a Reply

