Iron Thrones and Dragons or Kilts and Stone Circles

gotoutlanderGame of Thrones.  Outlander.  Two shows that have taken their audiences by storm.  Very different styles but equally compelling.

Both are about family, love, relationships.  And war.  Always war.  So much of our history is about war.

Game of Thrones has more of surrealistic feel, what with the dragons and all.  Outlander is based on a lot of Scottish history. Being of Great Britain descent myself, I find the history (and the accents!) very interesting.

I have read both set of books.  Very big books.  Lots of reading, have kept me entertained off and on for the past year or so.  I am actually not quite done with the Outlander series since I was wait listed for over 2 months on book 5.  (None of the other books in the series were wait listed, just this one.  Did everybody just read book 5???).  Anyway, I highly recommend both series of books, but I will say that Outlander is more repetitive than Game of Thrones.  I will also say that I am glad I saw a few episodes of each first before I started reading, so I could picture the characters.  I honestly don’t think I would have made it through Outlander without picturing Sam Heughan in my mind, lol.

Both have been on hiatus, for far too long in my opinion!  Both are starting up soon, and I can’t wait.

If I had to pick which show I like best, it would be a toss up right now.  I like Game of Thrones for all the character development and new and exciting places they go to.  Never a dull moment, as they jump around from Kings Landing to The Wall to Dorne this season.  I like Outlander because of the love story between Jamie and Claire, which transcends time.  And of course my favorite actor, Sam Heughan, who is one hot Ginger!

Which show do YOU like best?  Why?  I would love to hear your comments!

 

4 thoughts on “Iron Thrones and Dragons or Kilts and Stone Circles

  1. I have to admit I hadn’t even heard of Outlander before this. But I love Games of Thrones, cant wait for it to start up again and I really love the scenery, when your not fully engrossed in the characters. Really looking forward to seeing Dubrovnik Croatia this season.

    Maybe I should find Outlander… I do have a long flight ahead of me .

    Thanks for sharing x

    • Outlander is a HUGE series, just like GoT. 8 big novels. But if you haven’t read GoT yet, maybe read that series too! Outlander is on STARZ, which is another Premium cable channel here.

Leave a Reply

