30 Days of Truth Challenge – Day 5

Day 5.  Something you hope to do in your life.

I want to go visit the land of my people.  The British Isles.  I want to bask in the glorious green of Ireland.  Experience the proper tea of England.  And I want to search for future ex-husband in Scotland.

My father was English (mostly), and my mother was Irish.  Growing up, she always teased about putting me in an Irish Spring commercial, because of my golden reddish brown hair, green eyes, and freckles.  My sister and I were supposed to Irish names.  Joyce was supposed to be Maureen, and I was supposed to be Maggie.  My father stepped in and named us.  Janet, which I never thought of as being British, is indeed an English/Scots name, meaning God has been Gracious.  It is also “little Joan”, and possibly he was naming for his sister, Joan (who was actually Joanne).  My sister’s name Joyce is also English and Irish, and a diminutive of “Lord”.

Interesting.  I NEVER thought we had British names.  We both always hated our names, because we wanted REAL Irish names, lol.  And here we had them, all along!  It’s amazing to me that my mother or father never told us the origin of our names.  Maybe they didn’t know?  I mean, google didn’t exist back then.  But, I’m sure my father did.  He was smarter than I ever knew.

Anyway, moving on to my husband.  I want to go to Scotland and find my own Outlander.  Sam Heughan would do just fine, but perhaps a bit too young for me.  I wonder what his father looks like……

I mean, look at the Scottish men I love besides Sam….Craig Ferguson, Gerard Butler, Sean Connery.  Need I say more?

Seriously though, I couldn’t imagine a better thing to do with my life.  I would sit and look out the window at rolling green hills next to sparkling water, writing my memoirs, sipping on tea.

Sigh…………….

Leave a Reply

